IDE for DOS?

DOS specific questions.
MPNQB
Posts: 31
Joined: Sep 14, 2005 2:53

IDE for DOS?

Postby MPNQB » Nov 18, 2006 19:05

Is there an IDE for MS-DOS Freebasic? Right now, i'm using an odd batch file with Edit.com and fbc.exe, because this is pure dos and FBide needs windows. I'm looking for a better solution. Anything out there?
rdc
Posts: 1725
Joined: May 27, 2005 17:22
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Postby rdc » Nov 18, 2006 21:18

I used PFE for my dos editing, when I did that. You can find a copy here:

ftp://ftp.demon.co.uk/pub/simtelnet/win3/editor/

Look for pfe101.zip. I haven't used it in years so I don't know what this version looks like, but the version I had was quite good. Might be worth a look.
DOS386
Posts: 798
Joined: Jul 02, 2005 20:55

DOS IDE

Postby DOS386 » Nov 18, 2006 22:07

I used PFE for my dos editing, when I did that. You can find a copy here:
ftp://ftp.demon.co.uk/pub/simtelnet/win3/editor/
Look for pfe101.zip. I haven't used it in years so I don't know what this version looks like, but the version I had was quite good. Might be worth a look.


SORRY, but this IS a Windoze 3.xxx editor, NOT a DOS one ... your
"dos editing" did NOT really occur in DOS.

Is there an IDE for MS-DOS Freebasic?


MS-DOS was dropped 1994 ...

A DOS IDE is RHIDE, but it is VERY buggy.

Editors at least:

I used mostly FreeDOS EDIT ... but it has 64 KiB limit.

Also, there is DR-DOS edit - no 64 KiB limit, but becomes slow on big texts :-(

There is also SETEDIT ... have a look, but it has some bugs ... so be warned.

And: http://www.laaca-mirror.ic.cz/blocek.rar (Written in FreePASCAL, not FreeBASIC, and still buggy).

Some better (?) suggestions:

INFOPAD : Editor coming with CC386 compiler, but standalone, can edit huge texts, make sure to get the latest version, there should be no serious bugs anymore (some minor ... yeah).

KINESICS : Simple but very good and stable editor (tried hard, but failed to crash it) - the DOS version is bad, but the Win32 console 030 version works very well in DOS with help of HX :-)

EDIT (2008-02-29) : finally updated with better editors
Last edited by DOS386 on Feb 29, 2008 8:28, edited 1 time in total.
rugxulo
Posts: 219
Joined: Jun 30, 2006 5:31
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
Contact:

Postby rugxulo » Dec 07, 2006 20:19

Well, I don't know of any BASIC IDEs for DOS specifically, but some DOS editors (I think GNU Emacs, TDE, FED, VILE, VIM) support compiling within the editor and jumping to error numbers. Anyways, I made a brief list of editors for DOS on another forum, if you're curious (not really that informative but at least you'll have a few to test if you're bored/curious).

P.S. If you prefer RHIDE, make sure you use the latest (final?) snapshot.
spaz_man
Posts: 160
Joined: Feb 09, 2006 2:08
Contact:

Re: IDE for DOS?

Postby spaz_man » Dec 22, 2006 21:53

I'm currently making a QB IDE clone that doesn't use any platform specific stuff. When I release first beta, I'll make a point to test it in DOS.
Opresion
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 27, 2007 11:08
Location: Mexico

Re: DOS IDE

Postby Opresion » Sep 05, 2007 10:58


that editor makes run the processor 100% and it's very slow
Opresion
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 27, 2007 11:08
Location: Mexico

Re: IDE for DOS?

Postby Opresion » Sep 05, 2007 11:00

spaz_man wrote:I'm currently making a QB IDE clone...

and? is it already finished? i would like to work in it.
DOS386
Posts: 798
Joined: Jul 02, 2005 20:55

Postby DOS386 » Sep 05, 2007 15:47

makes run the processor 100%


How did you find out ?

One more IDE: http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8497
Opresion
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 27, 2007 11:08
Location: Mexico

Postby Opresion » Sep 06, 2007 5:09

StopTCPA wrote:
makes run the processor 100%

How did you find out ?
One more IDE: http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8497


Usually I open the System Monitor checking the processor every one second.
I run the program that I want to test for several seconds in a pasive way, I mean, just touching or moving Nothing, not even the mouse.

Then I switch to the System Monitor window and I see if the grapchics fill the screen touching 100%.
In a pasive or waiting way my processor usually shows 5%.
Opresion
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 27, 2007 11:08
Location: Mexico

Postby Opresion » Sep 07, 2007 12:05


Ooops, it's for Linux.
DOS386
Posts: 798
Joined: Jul 02, 2005 20:55

100% Linux

Postby DOS386 » Sep 07, 2007 20:45

switch to the System Monitor window and I see if the grapchics fill the screen touching 100%


Seems you are not using DOS :-/

Ooops, it's for Linux.


:-(

It used to be for DOS in the past :-(
Opresion
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 27, 2007 11:08
Location: Mexico

Re: 100% Linux

Postby Opresion » Sep 09, 2007 11:44

StopTCPA wrote:
switch to the System Monitor window and I see if the grapchics fill the screen touching 100%

Seems you are not using DOS

Windows 98SE
coderJeff
Site Admin
Posts: 3308
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 14:23
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: DOS IDE

Postby coderJeff » Sep 09, 2007 16:34

StopTCPA wrote:A DOS IDE is RHIDE, but it is VERY buggy.


Well, I can attest to that. I tried building a newer version of RHIDE from sources with the intent of adding options for fbc. I only got so far as it is a very complex package to build. I posted a few screenshots of the compiler (fbc) being debugged inside the IDE. Sorry, there's not much more than that and I haven't looked at it since January. And I never released anything ( yet ).

http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7036
rugxulo
Posts: 219
Joined: Jun 30, 2006 5:31
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
Contact:

Re: DOS IDE

Postby rugxulo » Oct 11, 2007 23:17

Well, I can attest to that. I tried building a newer version of RHIDE from sources with the intent of adding options for fbc. I only got so far as it is a very complex package to build. I posted a few screenshots of the compiler (fbc) being debugged inside the IDE. Sorry, there's not much more than that and I haven't looked at it since January. And I never released anything ( yet ).

http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7036


Today, I added some minor comments of mine (maybe not too useful) in the original thread.
jcfuller
Posts: 324
Joined: Sep 03, 2007 18:40

Postby jcfuller » Mar 04, 2008 17:20

I ran across some old (pb) dos code from the early 90's and remembered I used Boxer for all my editing. It was shareware and it appears a windows version is still available. I saw no reference on their web site of a dos version but did google a link to a dos ver 7.0. On this page are a number of other editors.

http://garbo.uwasa.fi/pc/editor.html

I have a registered ver 6.0 and an unregistered 7.0 . When I fired up the 7.0 version it said I was only 700+ days over my 30 day trial period :) Any way I don't think it was crippled just a lot of nag screens when you exit.

I have a registered version so I don't care but someone may want to contact the author to see about availability.

James

Return to “DOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests