Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?[solved]

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
BasicCoder2
Posts: 3311
Joined: Jan 01, 2009 7:03

Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?[solved]

Postby BasicCoder2 » Jul 13, 2018 10:13

With regards to another thread,
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=24550&start=90
When using FBIDE to compile the FreeBASIC source code written by ITomi
http://www.programozzunk.ucoz.hu/fbjatekok/sziget.zip
the resulting .exe would, after a while, just end by itself.
I changed the end loop condition to a keypress but it made no difference.
ITomi says it only happens when you compile from FBIDE but not when you compile it with another IDE ??
What would the difference be as I assumed the IDE simply provided text and the compiler was the same in both cases?

ITomi wrote:
P.S.: this is the exit code when I run the game with FBide and closes: -1073740940


By the way I commented out #include "fmod.bi" along with any lines of code that required its presence on the possibility that it has something to do with that library. However after a while it still closed unexpectedly while running.
Last edited by BasicCoder2 on Jul 17, 2018 3:52, edited 1 time in total.
MrSwiss
Posts: 2812
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby MrSwiss » Jul 13, 2018 12:34

Question:
What influence does a IDE (any one) apart from: build options have,
on the resulting binary? (slightly simplified, for explanations sake)

Answer: absolutely none!
badidea
Posts: 1011
Joined: May 24, 2007 22:10
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby badidea » Jul 13, 2018 12:37

Compile should only depend on compile options, not on what/who invokes the compiler.
There is probably a memory leak in the code, causing this difference.
dodicat
Posts: 5244
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby dodicat » Jul 13, 2018 14:02

There are many warnings (fbide)
line 5 sziget.bas
DIM SHARED zene AS any PTR
fixes the warnings anyway.
Seems to run fine here on Win 10 fb 1.05
BasicCoder2
Posts: 3311
Joined: Jan 01, 2009 7:03

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby BasicCoder2 » Jul 13, 2018 21:36

@dodicat,
At first your suggestion seemed to help but no the program eventually still just ends itself.

I have been using,
System:
FBIde: 0.4.6
fbc: FreeBASIC Compiler - Version 1.05.0 (01-31-2016), built for win32 (32bit)
OS: Windows NT 6.2 (build 9200)

The FBide settings are,
Compiler path:
C:\FreeBasic\fbc.exe
Compiler command:
"<$fbc>" "<$file>"
Run command:
"<$file>" <$param>
dodicat
Posts: 5244
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby dodicat » Jul 14, 2018 5:42

If you quick run fbidetemp.exe will be the running file.
If you compile and run then sziget.exe will run.

Running with -exx flag immediately crashes the program.
try setting the fbide run command to
cmd /c "<$file>" <$param> & pause
to pinpoint the line or error.

I cannot use this here because my registry (or something) is somehow broken.
I had an almighty crash a few months back testing select case as constant true/false, and I have lost the console information from -exx switch.
(From any ide)
marcov
Posts: 2645
Joined: Jun 16, 2005 9:45
Location: Eindhoven, NL
Contact:

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby marcov » Jul 14, 2018 10:08

Note that problems can be more benign:

- IDEs not autosaving editor when compiling
- IDEs generating the binary in some directory e.g. target (i386\win32 or something)
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jul 14, 2018 10:09

@dodicat

Why are you still not doing a system backup?
dodicat
Posts: 5244
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby dodicat » Jul 14, 2018 13:20

I would just like to get my default console back.
There is something wrong with sysyem32\cmd.exe
running this I get a blank console with a cursor set about three rows down in the middle.

Code: Select all

 

shell "start cmd"


Same If i choose fbide main menu run/CMD promt

Any ideas?
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jul 14, 2018 15:09

@dodicat

Mine is dated 12 April 2018 along with many others in System32; probably came in with last big Windows update.

I'm on Windows 10 Pro V1803 Build 17134.165

It has a SHA256 hash value of: 3685495D051137B1C4EFDE22C26DF0883614B6453B762FA84588DA55ED2E7744
File vesrsion: 6.2.17134.1
Size: 273920 bytes

What are your figures?
dodicat
Posts: 5244
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby dodicat » Jul 14, 2018 21:52

Thanks deltarho{}
Mine is almost identical (same update I suppose).
I found the fault, I had black text and black background, and have had for a few months.
I changed it to a kinda aquamarine now, so every time I see it, from now on,I am reminded of what sort of twit I am.
Anyway the fault with the code I get:

Code: Select all

 
Aborting due to runtime error 2 (file not found) at line 392 of C:\Users\User\Downloads\sziget\A_sziget\kepbetolt.kbt::()

Press any key to continue . . .
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 1651
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Does FBIDE compile differently to other IDEs ?

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jul 14, 2018 23:54

dodicat wrote:I had black text and black background

Thanks dodicat. I have been waiting for the day that I could say "I've seen it all now" but did not think that I would make it. <smile>

Return to “Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests