FB debugger : 2.92 32/64 BIT ..... (June 6th, 2018)

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
sancho3
Posts: 252
Joined: Sep 30, 2017 3:22

Re: FB debugger : 2.91 32/64 BIT ..... (Aug 20th, 2016)

Postby sancho3 » Dec 13, 2017 23:23

Sorry Sarg, I actually had the break condition set wrong. The break var does work for "run to cursor" and the others.
The only one I found that ignores it is "auto step".
The default condition is break when value not equal. This is going to be a rarely used setting.
Most of the time the user is going to want to break when value equal. Could that not be the default?

There is a couple of other minor things that I see:

The default for the right hand pane is for the tree to be collapsed. So if you are stepping through your code and mouse over and unfold the tree, that pane now has the focus. Automatically I hit the 'S" key to step through the code but the keypress is now sent to the wrong pane. I have to mouse back over to the left pane and click somewhere there to start stepping. Could the default be for the tree to be unfolded to the scope of where the cursor is in the code pane?

The code text is too close to the left margin. There should be some space there similar to what most editors have.

Again, thanks.
SARG
Posts: 830
Joined: May 27, 2005 7:15
Location: FRANCE

Re: FB debugger : 2.91 32/64 BIT ..... (Aug 20th, 2016)

Postby SARG » Dec 14, 2017 18:36

sancho3 wrote:Sorry Sarg, I actually had the break condition set wrong. The break var does work for "run to cursor" and the others.
No problem I prefer that :-)
I have changed the text in the 'break on var ' box to avoid confusion.

sancho3 wrote:The only one I found that ignores it is "auto step".
Yes it's intended, the condition is not checked when "auto stepping".

sancho3 wrote:The default condition is break when value not equal. This is going to be a rarely used setting.
Most of the time the user is going to want to break when value equal. Could that not be the default?
I previously selected not equal because the current value is used by default for comparison.
Done. (see link below Beta 2.92, only source code, buttons and 32bit exe)

sancho3 wrote:There is a couple of other minor things that I see:

The default for the right hand pane is for the tree to be collapsed. So if you are stepping through your code and mouse over and unfold the tree, that pane now has the focus. Automatically I hit the 'S" key to step through the code but the keypress is now sent to the wrong pane. I have to mouse back over to the left pane and click somewhere there to start stepping. Could the default be for the tree to be unfolded to the scope of where the cursor is in the code pane?
Now when the mouse goes back to the source code panel the focus is set on this window.

sancho3 wrote:The code text is too close to the left margin. There should be some space there similar to what most editors have.

The left marging is now 10 pixels. Is it enough ?
I found a commented line doing that so it was easy.

sancho3 wrote:Again, thanks.
You are welcome. Any other improvement ?

Also added break on var for longint and ulongint.

Beta 2.92

edit : Forgot to say
added a message box when a break on var is met to better visibility and allowing to keep or remove it.
sancho3
Posts: 252
Joined: Sep 30, 2017 3:22

Re: FB debugger : 2.91 32/64 BIT ..... (Aug 20th, 2016)

Postby sancho3 » Jun 03, 2018 17:37

Hey Sarg:
I found an anomaly in the following code.
Edit: No anomaly, my mistake. I left the code here for the curious.

Code: Select all

Type test
   As Any Ptr img1
   As Any Ptr img2
   Declare Destructor()
End Type

Destructor test()
   Dim As UByte x = Peek(img2)   ' x = 7
   If this.img1 <> 0 AndAlso Peek(img1) <> 0 Then
      Cast(Integer Ptr, img1)[0] = 0
      x = Peek(img2)      ' x = 0
      ImageDestroy(img1)
      x = Peek(img2)      ' x = 238
      img1 = 0
   EndIf
   If this.img2 <> 0 AndAlso Peek(img2) <> 0 Then
      Cast(Integer Ptr, img2)[0] = 0   
      ImageDestroy(img2)
      img2 = 0
   EndIf
End Destructor

ScreenRes 800,600
Dim As test t
t.img1 = ImageCreate(110,110)
t.img2 = t.img1

Last edited by sancho3 on Jun 03, 2018 18:34, edited 1 time in total.
fxm
Posts: 8023
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburb, FRANCE

Re: FB debugger : 2.91 32/64 BIT ..... (Aug 20th, 2016)

Postby fxm » Jun 03, 2018 18:19

SARG
Posts: 830
Joined: May 27, 2005 7:15
Location: FRANCE

Re: FB debugger : 2.92 32/64 BIT ..... (June 6th, 2018)

Postby SARG » Jun 06, 2018 13:17

Hi all,

It's been a long time since I had to make a new version, however not a lot of new features, see first post. Version 2.92.

http://users.freebasic-portal.de/sarg/fbdebugger292.zip

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest