Downloading files from the FB Official Archive

General FreeBASIC programming questions.
Don
Posts: 14
Joined: May 07, 2007 23:41
Location: USA

Downloading files from the FB Official Archive

Postby Don » Mar 27, 2008 17:30

Can someone explain how to download files from the FB Official Archive while logged in to the Forum?

I have been unsuccessful at doing this so far. Can't figure out what to click on to start a download.

Thanks in advance.

Don
srvaldez
Posts: 2482
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Postby srvaldez » Mar 27, 2008 18:46

click on the file you want to download, you will get a description of the file and at the bottom you will see a DOWNLOAD NOW , click on it to download.
Don
Posts: 14
Joined: May 07, 2007 23:41
Location: USA

Postby Don » Mar 27, 2008 19:21

Although I am logged-in at the Forum level, when I choose a file to download, I do not see a "DOWNLOAD NOW" message, only a message that says "You must be logged-in to download files."

It seems to be ignoring the fact that I am already logged into the FB Forum.
Antoni
Posts: 1393
Joined: May 27, 2005 15:40
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Postby Antoni » Mar 27, 2008 20:07

It works like this, you have to log in again...
KristopherWindsor
Posts: 2428
Joined: Jul 19, 2006 19:17
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Contact:

Postby KristopherWindsor » Mar 27, 2008 20:09

I think even though it uses passwords from this forum, it keeps a separate list of who is logged in, so you have to login there. ;-)
Don
Posts: 14
Joined: May 07, 2007 23:41
Location: USA

Postby Don » Mar 27, 2008 21:28

Still no luck.

It will not let me log into the archive area, nor will it allow me to register for the archive area. It keeps on telling me to go to the FB Forum and log in there (which, of course, I have already done). I have tried just about every combination I can think of.
egocks
Posts: 20
Joined: Mar 27, 2008 2:02
Location: Philippines

try this

Postby egocks » Mar 28, 2008 1:12

you've probably solved it by now, but for the sake of other people who may encounter the same...

try this step by step process:
1. go to www.freebasic.net/arch. at the top of the page, you should find the two textboxes for username and password, and the Login and Register buttons.
2. (assuming cookies are enabled), type in those textboxes your forum username and password, and click login. (don't click register)
3. if the login was successful, you should see at the top the message "Logged in as Don", and beside it a "Logout" link.
(* if the login was unsuccessful, you'll be directed to an error page)
4. Click on a category, for example try "Miscellaneous".
5. Click on the file name, e.g. "sixmath.bas"
6. it will lead you to the file description screen. at the bottom there should be a "Download Now" link, it's just below the "Download Time" line.
7. click on "Download Now" to get the file.
Merick
Posts: 1038
Joined: May 28, 2007 1:52

Postby Merick » Mar 28, 2008 2:36

Don, are you using Firefox for IE? I just tried it and it seems that the login system for that page is broken in Firefox, but works in IE
egocks
Posts: 20
Joined: Mar 27, 2008 2:02
Location: Philippines

Postby egocks » Mar 28, 2008 2:40

Merick wrote:Don, are you using Firefox for IE? I just tried it and it seems that the login system for that page is broken in Firefox, but works in IE


using firefox here, and it works perfectly.

edit:
Firefox v. 2.0.0.13
Last edited by egocks on Mar 28, 2008 2:45, edited 1 time in total.
Don
Posts: 14
Joined: May 07, 2007 23:41
Location: USA

Postby Don » Mar 28, 2008 2:44

Merick:

I am using FIREFOX!

Will try IE as you suggested.
Don
Posts: 14
Joined: May 07, 2007 23:41
Location: USA

Postby Don » Mar 28, 2008 3:03

Merick:

You are right!

IE works, but latest version of FIREFOX 2 does not. The log in ID and password fields are greyed out on the FB Archive log in page.

Thanks for confirming the prolem I am having.
Merick
Posts: 1038
Joined: May 28, 2007 1:52

Postby Merick » Mar 28, 2008 10:42

Yeah, Firefox 2 seems to have this problem with a number of pages. If you install the IE tab extension you can set Firefox to automatically use the IE engine to display pages that don't work correctly with the mozilla engine.
cha0s
Site Admin
Posts: 5317
Joined: May 27, 2005 6:42
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Postby cha0s » Mar 28, 2008 12:11

On my Firefox, it looks greyed out but you can actually enter information there.
Don
Posts: 14
Joined: May 07, 2007 23:41
Location: USA

Postby Don » Mar 28, 2008 15:03

I have been doing some more checking, and have found the following:

FIREFOX 2.0.0.12 .. Does not work for me in any case.

FIREFOX 2.0.0,13 .. Does work even though ID/password are
grayed out in the FB Archive.

FIREFOX 3beta4 .. Does not work in any case.
Don
Posts: 14
Joined: May 07, 2007 23:41
Location: USA

Postby Don » Mar 28, 2008 15:06

Merick:

How do you install a "IE tab extension" in FIREFOX?

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests