FMOD loading problem

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
Halifax
Posts: 65
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 1:30

FMOD loading problem

Post by Halifax »

Never have been able to get fmod to work. I found a nice tutorial in the forums, the very first line is the problem.

Had to change the include statement quite a bit to make it work.

#INCLUDE "fmod.bi"

This generates the error

FBIDETEMP.exe - Unable to locate component

This application has failed to start because FMOD.DLL was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.

I've specified the path but that didn't work either.
notthecheatr
Posts: 1759
Joined: May 23, 2007 21:52
Location: Cut Bank, MT
Contact:

Post by notthecheatr »

This is because you do not have fmod.dll installed on your system. The following page has links to the home pages of all the libraries there are FB headers for:

http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=788

The home page of most libraries will include the binary, or DLL for that library. FreeBasic includes the headers, which you need to compile a program using the library, but you'll still need the binary for the library itself, which you can only get at the program home page. In this case, you want

http://www.fmod.org/

Which should have the DLL availible for download. Once you have the DLL, put it in your Windows\System32 directory to install it - note that if you distribute your program over the internet, you should include the DLL with the program so other people don't have to download it.
Halifax
Posts: 65
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 1:30

Post by Halifax »

That did it. Wouldn't it be intuitive to place instructions like that at the beginning of a tutorial about fmod? Got a little confused reading the line "Plasma has done a great job in porting the FMOD headers, which are included with the FreeBASIC release, so you don't have to download anything other than FreeBASIC to get started."

Anyway, got it up and running. Thanks for the help.
KristopherWindsor
Posts: 2428
Joined: Jul 19, 2006 19:17
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Contact:

Post by KristopherWindsor »

Well technically, you can create FMOD programs without fmod.dll; you just can't test them. :-P
notthecheatr
Posts: 1759
Joined: May 23, 2007 21:52
Location: Cut Bank, MT
Contact:

Post by notthecheatr »

Yeah, I guess that might be a little ambiguous, and it certainly confused me when I first started using FreeBasic. v1ctor has said that it's impossible to include the DLLs with the compiler (and that's perfectly logical), so we just have to get used to it.
KristopherWindsor
Posts: 2428
Joined: Jul 19, 2006 19:17
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Contact:

Post by KristopherWindsor »

If you haven't found it by now, you can just get this fmod.dll that I uploaded to my file host:

http://fusionware.ourproject.org/itech/uploads/fmod.dll

:-)
Post Reply