Framerate for 900mhz

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
Halifax
Posts: 65
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 1:30

Framerate for 900mhz

Post by Halifax »

I'm looking for a couple people with computers close to 900 mhz. I have a 900 mhz processor and I have tested a couple programs I made, simply to test the maximum possible framerate for a full-screen 640x480 PUT.

I run this program on my machine and get 65 to 70 frames per second.

When I put it on my roomates computer, which is a 1.6ghz processor, I get 280 frames per second. His processor is not even twice as fast as mine yet he gets four times the framerate.

here is the program I'm using.

Code: Select all

Screen 18,32,1,1
Function FPS% 
  Static FPSST!, FPS1%, FPS2% 
  FPS1% = FPS1% + 1 
  If FPSST! + 1 < Timer Then 
    FPS2% = FPS1% 
    FPS1% = 0 
    FPSST! = Timer 
  End If 
  FPS% = FPS2% 
End Function
Dim TestPanel As Any Ptr
TestPanel = ImageCreate(640,460,Rgb(0,0,0))
Do
Locate 1,1: Print FPS%
Put (0,20), TestPanel, PSet
Loop Until Inkey <> ""
ImageDestroy(TestPanel)
End
sir_mud
Posts: 1402
Joined: Jul 29, 2006 3:00
Location: A van down by the river
Contact:

Post by sir_mud »

Don't have any ~900MHz computers atm, but there is a wide difference in framerates there because of the age of your processor it is using a totaly different micro archetecture. Remember, Gigahertz alone does not a processor make. And the AMD Athlon64 3000+ runs at 1.8Ghz as an example.
Halifax
Posts: 65
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 1:30

Post by Halifax »

Then I just have a sucky computer :(

That's bad, I can't get my game to run any faster than 30fps...

Well, my other roomates computer is a dual core 2.somethin...

She gets 1200 fps.

I can draw only one conclusion; time for a new computer.
arenth
Posts: 511
Joined: Aug 30, 2005 6:22

Post by arenth »

There is more at work in concerns to a frame rate then just CPU clock rate, newer computers have faster front side buses, so they can push more data around, not to mention larger cache's, faster ram, and better execution pipelines. So its not necessarily a surprise to see such a massive FPS boost.
MichaelW
Posts: 3500
Joined: May 16, 2006 22:34
Location: USA

Post by MichaelW »

Yes, there’s more to performance than CPU clock speed. My 1.7GHz P4 only does 180 frames per second.
diffeecult
Posts: 84
Joined: Feb 03, 2007 2:37

Post by diffeecult »

I have a 900MHz AMD Duron. I get 84 fps.
relsoft
Posts: 1767
Joined: May 27, 2005 10:34
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by relsoft »

750 Duron.

about ~100.
cha0s
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: May 27, 2005 6:42
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by cha0s »

I got a 450 mhz p3, I get like 60-65, solid, also listening to psf files on winamp *kills it* oh well now I get about 90.
Antoni
Posts: 1393
Joined: May 27, 2005 15:40
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Post by Antoni »

At the job ( P4 2,4 Nvidia RIVA TNT2 Ii got 205 fps
But if I change the line

Code: Select all

Loop Until Inkey<>"" 
to

Code: Select all

Loop Until len(Inkey )
I get 233 FPS, as string functions are slow...
LukeL
Posts: 118
Joined: Mar 14, 2006 17:26

Post by LukeL »

150 fps
Athlon @ 1200 Mhz
Radeon 7200
1000101
Posts: 2556
Joined: Jun 13, 2005 23:14
Location: SK, Canada

Post by 1000101 »

With some small tweaks I got it up to 270 FPS on my AthlonXP 2500+ (1.8GHz, Barton Core). My ATI Radeon 9200SE is driving two monitors though but that shouldn't have significantly impacted preformance.
C
Posts: 104
Joined: Mar 13, 2006 2:17

Post by C »

I have a 1.1GHz celeron and get around 57-61 fps.


(my computer sucks)
h4tt3n
Posts: 698
Joined: Oct 22, 2005 21:12
Location: Denmark

Post by h4tt3n »

I got a HP laptop with:
2.0 ghz AMD athlon 64 bit pocessor (probably only running 1 ghz right now) and ATI Radeon mobility express 200 series

~465 fps
Antoni
Posts: 1393
Joined: May 27, 2005 15:40
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Post by Antoni »

I get 898 fps with my brand new AMD 64 3500+ /NViddia Geforce 6150.
Halifax
Posts: 65
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 1:30

Post by Halifax »

Yay, thanks everyone for all the replies.

Looks like the speed of a 900mhz processor (mine) will limit me to either incorporating OpenGL, or using screen 16.

I am unable to create a 640x480 full screen pixel scrolling tile map that scrolls at over 30fps but 512x384 seems to almost hit 40.

Here comes a walk around demo!
Post Reply