Network problem with freebasic and freedos

DOS specific questions.
Cpcdos
Posts: 207
Joined: Mar 06, 2013 13:52
Location: France - LYON 69003
Contact:

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by Cpcdos »

Yes! That's really weird !

But after have deleted and executed the program, TEXTE.TXT is created (the content is empty)
dkl
Site Admin
Posts: 3235
Joined: Jul 28, 2005 14:45
Location: Germany

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by dkl »

Any luck when using CRT fopen() directly, instead of FB's Open function?

Code: Select all

const NULL = 0
#include once "crt.bi"

var filename = "X:\DOSSIER\texte.txt"

print "fopen( """ + filename + """ )"
var f = fopen( filename, "rb" )
if( f ) then
	print "successful"
	fclose( f )
else
	var e = errno
	print "failed, errno = " & e & " (" + *strerror( e ) + ")"
end if
Cpcdos
Posts: 207
Joined: Mar 06, 2013 13:52
Location: France - LYON 69003
Contact:

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by Cpcdos »

With this code, i have this

Image
marcov
Posts: 3455
Joined: Jun 16, 2005 9:45
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by marcov »

Maybe under freedos, share.exe is not loaded by default? IIRC that was needed for certain locking uses on network drives?
Cpcdos
Posts: 207
Joined: Mar 06, 2013 13:52
Location: France - LYON 69003
Contact:

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by Cpcdos »

I must load share.exe for intall network drivers
marcov
Posts: 3455
Joined: Jun 16, 2005 9:45
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by marcov »

In a typical scenario, there are two different levels on permission on Windows. First, the NTFS permissions (the "Securité dialog that you show), secondly the share level permissions. (sharing in English, Partage in French?).

Maybe the NTFS permissions are ok, but the share level ones are not. If you use a third party product to share, it might not support older versions of SMB.
Cpcdos
Posts: 207
Joined: Mar 06, 2013 13:52
Location: France - LYON 69003
Contact:

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by Cpcdos »

Hmm..

I have tested with Windows XP and Windows 8 with FreeDos i have the same problem
but with DrDos or MSDOS i not have this problem

:/
marcov
Posts: 3455
Joined: Jun 16, 2005 9:45
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by marcov »

Cpcdos wrote: I have tested with Windows XP and Windows 8 with FreeDos i have the same problem
but with DrDos or MSDOS i not have this problem
Then it is probably not FreeBasic related, and can be better moved to FreeDOS forums.
Cpcdos
Posts: 207
Joined: Mar 06, 2013 13:52
Location: France - LYON 69003
Contact:

Re: Network problem with freebasic and freedos

Post by Cpcdos »

Yes, i will see

Thank you all people!
Post Reply