Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
VANYA
Posts: 1311
Joined: Oct 24, 2010 15:16
Location: Ярославль
Contact:

Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby VANYA » Jan 30, 2012 13:45

I tried to make a wrapper for engine MINIMAX.

There is a possibility:
1) change the color of the interface
2) The level of play
3) Language (English, Russian)
4) autoplay
5) The size of the board

ImageImage

To build the library needs Window9

Download
Roland Chastain
Posts: 851
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: Dakar, Senegal
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby Roland Chastain » Jan 30, 2012 14:30

Nice ! I first believed that it needed your FB library to work, but I see that it works without. I will take time to play with it, and have a look at your code.

How can one change language ?
VANYA
Posts: 1311
Joined: Oct 24, 2010 15:16
Location: Ярославль
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby VANYA » Jan 30, 2012 15:32

Roland Chastain wrote:How can one change language ?


Image

Image
BasicCoder2
Posts: 3357
Joined: Jan 01, 2009 7:03

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby BasicCoder2 » Jan 30, 2012 19:57

VANYA wrote:I tried to make a wrapper for engine MINIMAX.


Very well done.
I wasn't able to turn on the English version after following your instructions to Roland.
Last edited by BasicCoder2 on Jan 29, 2013 19:35, edited 1 time in total.
Roland Chastain
Posts: 851
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: Dakar, Senegal
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby Roland Chastain » Jan 30, 2012 21:47

To turn on the english version you have to click on "yes" (left button) when it asks confirmation.

I sometimes wondered but never asked you where your pieces did comme from. Congratulations ! You are not a bad drawer, because it's very hard to draw chess pieces, and yours are nice, and look very nice in the VANYA program.
BasicCoder2
Posts: 3357
Joined: Jan 01, 2009 7:03

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby BasicCoder2 » Jan 30, 2012 22:07

Roland Chastain wrote:To turn on the english version you have to click on "yes" (left button) when it asks confirmation.

I was doing a SINGLE CLICK instead of a DOUBLE CLICK. Works now.
I sometimes wondered but never asked you where your pieces did comme from. Congratulations ! You are not a bad drawer, because it's very hard to draw chess pieces, and yours are nice, and look very nice in the VANYA program.

Amateur artist. I used to like drawing and painting but lost interest after two years in secondary school replacing it with an interest in electronics and now programming.
Dr_D
Posts: 2375
Joined: May 27, 2005 4:59
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby Dr_D » Jan 30, 2012 22:14

Hey... I would be willing to make some more 3d chess pieces and a board, if interested. I could also help out with the 3d opengl stuff, if you need/want to do that. I love making models like chess pieces. It's always fun. :)
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby Gonzo » Jan 30, 2012 22:54

Dr_D wrote:Hey... I would be willing to make some more 3d chess pieces and a board, if interested. I could also help out with the 3d opengl stuff, if you need/want to do that. I love making models like chess pieces. It's always fun. :)


make them voxelized!
use GL_TEXTURE_3D and draw them layered if you want to keep it simple =)
if they are square sized, you can use GL_TEXTURE_ARRAY_2D, but only modern GPUs (opengl 3.0+) can use that...

most gpus support GL_TEXTURE_3D (which filters between the layers, so you can do a layer 2.5 and it will be a blend between 2 and 3

http://prideout.net/blog/?p=60
Dr_D
Posts: 2375
Joined: May 27, 2005 4:59
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby Dr_D » Jan 30, 2012 23:21

Heh, well, I don't have a voxel editor. I mainly use Lightwave, and the version I use doesn't have voxel support. If you converted them with an algorithm though... :p
VANYA
Posts: 1311
Joined: Oct 24, 2010 15:16
Location: Ярославль
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby VANYA » Jan 31, 2012 3:58

BasicCoder2 wrote:
VANYA wrote:I tried to make a wrapper for engine MINIMAX.


Very well done. I notice you thought my images were good enough to use. I drew my own because I wasn't sure about those on the internet being copywright images. Do you use 3 sets of images? Do you want them changed or improved in anyway?


Yes, your figures were suitable for the program.

Dr_D wrote:Hey... I would be willing to make some more 3d chess pieces and a board, if interested. I could also help out with the 3d opengl stuff, if you need/want to do that. I love making models like chess pieces. It's always fun. :)


I'm sorry, but I'm not familiar with the implementation of 3D graphics :( . But if anyone draws extra pieces, then I'll change the code and they will be added to the project.

Thank you all for your opinions.
VANYA
Posts: 1311
Joined: Oct 24, 2010 15:16
Location: Ярославль
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby VANYA » Mar 21, 2012 2:55

Update: Adding the ability to select an optional set of figures. Thank you very much DR_D

Image

Image

Image

Image

Project Page
Roland Chastain
Posts: 851
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: Dakar, Senegal
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby Roland Chastain » Mar 21, 2012 8:03

Congratulations to the artist and to the programmer !

You made a very good GUI for Minimax.

There is only one thing I don't like in Dr_D pieces : the cross on the king's crown. It's too small. You'd better (in my opinion) wether remove wether remake it.

;-)
Dr_D
Posts: 2375
Joined: May 27, 2005 4:59
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby Dr_D » Mar 21, 2012 21:18

Roland Chastain wrote:Congratulations to the artist and to the programmer !

You made a very good GUI for Minimax.

There is only one thing I don't like in Dr_D pieces : the cross on the king's crown. It's too small. You'd better (in my opinion) wether remove wether remake it.

;-)


Heh... thanks. I kinda though the cross was too small also. I'll add a new one later. :)
Dr_D
Posts: 2375
Joined: May 27, 2005 4:59
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby Dr_D » Mar 22, 2012 1:33

Ok... here. ;) (don't forget to refresh if it looks the same)

Image

I'll have to do the others again... the marble ones, but I wanted to make them look better anyway. I wasn't that happy with the texture. Also... I gave the horse ears now, though they are hard to see at that level. :p
VANYA
Posts: 1311
Joined: Oct 24, 2010 15:16
Location: Ярославль
Contact:

Re: Gui for chess engine MINIMAX

Postby VANYA » Mar 22, 2012 4:16

Yes, the king with a cross looks better.

P.S. Thanks for the tip Roland

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests