Eschecs FreeBASIC (UCI chess GUI)

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
Post Reply
TESLACOIL
Posts: 1769
Joined: Jun 20, 2010 16:04
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by TESLACOIL »

few tips

let user know on screen 'escape' exits the program

i couldn't figure out how to stop the autoplay either

it also took me a while to figure out how to move the pieces with the mouse

when the users clicks on a square it that square should be highlighted = intuitive feedback




I like the prog , it looks ok , just needs a bit more polish on the interface




on the fun side if you push the H pawn you always get a queen :-)
h2>h4
h5
h6
pxp
pxr (Queen)
Roland Chastain
Posts: 1006
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Roland Chastain »

TESLACOIL wrote:let user know on screen 'escape' exits the program
I will.
TESLACOIL wrote:i couldn't figure out how to stop the autoplay either
You're right, this is also a problem. I will think to it.
TESLACOIL wrote:it also took me a while to figure out how to move the pieces with the mouse
Yes, but if I explain it in the "readme", almost nobody reads "readme". If I write it to the screen, I'm afraid it doesn't look very nice (to my taste). And moreover I must choose a language. If it is not french, I'm not able to make it myself without language mistakes. I have to decide myself on that question of help messages.
TESLACOIL wrote:when the users clicks on a square it that square should be highlighted = intuitive feedback
I will make it in next days.
TESLACOIL wrote:I like the prog , it looks ok , just needs a bit more polish on the interface

on the fun side if you push the H pawn you always get a queen :-)
h2>h4
h5
h6
pxp
pxr (Queen)
Thank you very much for all your observations ! I will make something as soon as possible to find a strategy against the "h2-h4-h5-h6" attack ! I had never tried this move. It's great that you did say it to me. I will have a look at it at once.
TJF
Posts: 3809
Joined: Dec 06, 2009 22:27
Location: N47°, E15°
Contact:

Post by TJF »

Roland Chastain wrote:http://home.pacific.net.au/~tommyinoz/minimax.zip

It's very simple. After I have run the program, if I don't worry about any option and play white, I just have to type my move, for example "e2e4" and press enter. Then, as you say, the engine calculates and outputs for example "e7e5" (and other things I don't need).
If the engine works this way it's more dificile, because FreeBasic cannot handle bidirectional pipes (you can either output or input). For cross-platform code have a look at
Roland Chastain wrote:
TESLACOIL wrote: it also took me a while to figure out how to move the pieces with the mouse
Yes, but if I explain it in the "readme", almost nobody reads "readme". If I write it to the screen, I'm afraid it doesn't look very nice (to my taste). And moreover I must choose a language. If it is not french, I'm not able to make it myself without language mistakes. I have to decide myself on that question of help messages.
What about making a multi-lingual GUI? What about serving this (and other) information as a (translatable) tooltip?

It's easy by using GTK toolkit and you'll get cross-platform code (windows / LINUX).
TESLACOIL
Posts: 1769
Joined: Jun 20, 2010 16:04
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by TESLACOIL »

never drop your user in the dungeon of FUD fear uncertainty and doubt

on launching the right hand side which is initially empty of pieces can display a list of commands , these commands stay listed until the first piece is captured

or

on launching you have a splash screen which list commands , press escape or space to start the program



FAFNAV is key fast as f##k navigation , reduce eye wander & click rate

RT#M = i don't care about the user

HCI is king ( human computer interaction )

Once your code is functional , then start working that interface

programmers are nerdy geeks but they have to learn to switch hats when producing complete works ( i am a designer first, so my code is awful , it will hurt your eyes )


Yours is the best FB chess prog i have seen so far , it is worthy of that extra polish





I have just noticed that RT#M is filtered , loooool
Roland Chastain
Posts: 1006
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Roland Chastain »

TESLACOIL wrote: on launching the right hand side which is initially empty of pieces can display a list of commands , these commands stay listed until the first piece is captured

or

on launching you have a splash screen which list commands , press escape or space to start the program
Good ideas.
I added "Exit=ESC" in the window title. I'm thinking about the way to stop the "auto" play.
Thank you for your kind support !
Roland Chastain
Posts: 1006
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Roland Chastain »

TESLACOIL wrote: h2>h4
h5
h6
pxp
pxr (Queen)
Here is the "anti-pawn-promotion defense" I've found :

Code: Select all

    for ij=1 to len(c06(ii))/4' next opponent's moves
        nc3=nr_caz(mid(c06(ii),1+4*(ij-1),2))' start square
        nc4=nr_caz(mid(c06(ii),3+4*(ij-1),2))' arrival square
        if nature(oc1(ii,nc3))=pion then' pawn moves
            select case as const trait
            case 0
                if ligne(nc4)=6 then n23=-3' Give up that move and do something
            case 1
                if ligne(nc4)=1 then n23=-3' to stop the pawn !
            end select
        end if
    next ij
I'm happy to say to you that the "alone lateral pawn attack" doesn't succeed any longer ! Thank you for the indication.

If you have time and want to see the result you can paste it in "esch13.bas", just before :

Code: Select all

n99(ii)=0
Roland Chastain
Posts: 1006
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Roland Chastain »

Could anyone traduce for me in english this message :
"Pour déplacer une pièce, cliquez sur la case de départ,
puis sur la case d'arrivée. Appuyez sur une touche..."
Thanks !
Roland Chastain
Posts: 1006
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Roland Chastain »

TJF wrote:If the engine works this way it's more dificile, because FreeBasic cannot handle bidirectional pipes (you can either output or input). For cross-platform code have a look at
Thanks, I will.
TJF wrote:What about making a multi-lingual GUI?
Yes, this is what I decided to do.
BasicCoder2
Posts: 3908
Joined: Jan 01, 2009 7:03
Location: Australia

Post by BasicCoder2 »

Roland Chastain wrote:Could anyone traduce for me in english this message :
"Pour déplacer une pièce, cliquez sur la case de départ,
puis sur la case d'arrivée. Appuyez sur une touche..."
Thanks !
I used the online google translator,

"To move a piece, click on the drawing board,
then the destination square. Press any key ... "

:)

I guess "drawing board" means "chess board"?

Which I would clean up as,

"To move a piece, click on the piece you wish to move and then click on the square you wish to move it to."
Richard
Posts: 3096
Joined: Jan 15, 2007 20:44
Location: Australia

Post by Richard »

Yahoo Babel fish http://babelfish.yahoo.com/translate_txt gives;
" To move a part, click on the starting box, then on the box d' arrival. Press on a key… "
TESLACOIL
Posts: 1769
Joined: Jun 20, 2010 16:04
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by TESLACOIL »

I'm happy to say to you that the "alone lateral pawn attack" doesn't succeed any longer ! Thank you for the indication.


aww....but is was such a fun opening

....& I managed to take all its pieces for the loss of one errant knight




It is kind of fun to play against a weak AI .... At times Rybka has me pacing the room with queen odds

even GMs lose to rybka with with a pawn and a move advantage when its run on a fast pc

I can handle losing to a machine....but losing queen odds in blitz is taking the biscuit and shoving it where the sun don't shine lol...if ever they develop a special opening book for queen odds im going to be in real trouble!
Roland Chastain
Posts: 1006
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Roland Chastain »

BasicCoder2 wrote:"To move a piece, click on the piece you wish to move and then click on the square you wish to move it to."
Thanks ! I keep it.
TESLACOIL
Posts: 1769
Joined: Jun 20, 2010 16:04
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by TESLACOIL »

http://www.wikispaces.com/ = 0$ = make how you like it


http://asimov1.wikispaces.com/FB+by+example

http://freebasicportal.wikispaces.com/


1 link on your program (splash screen ) takes you to a multilingual picture gallery

People can download versions & instructions of your chess program
fxm
Moderator
Posts: 12131
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Post by fxm »

Roland Chastain wrote:
BasicCoder2 wrote:"To move a piece, click on the piece you wish to move and then click on the square you wish to move it to."
Thanks ! I keep it.
I had not proposed translation, because my English is not excellent, but still!

For a more concise help:
To move a piece, click on it then click on the target square.
Roland Chastain
Posts: 1006
Joined: Nov 24, 2011 19:49
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Roland Chastain »

fxm wrote:To move a piece, click on it then click on the target square.
Thanks !
Post Reply