Procedural block world project

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
agamemnus
Posts: 1842
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 4:48

Postby agamemnus » Apr 13, 2011 21:04

I see.

* The controls are really hard to use... I would prefer a forward and backward button in "flight" mode (depending on where the cursor is pointing), instead of up and down...

* Why is mining so slow? (right click and hold..)

* The square that indicates where the cursor is is not visible unless you are really close... the "." mouse cursor is really annoying.
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 15, 2011 19:36

it's like that because we are and have been focusing on very many other things for quite a while
while i agree, it's essentially things i will fix the last
nonetheless i agree on the crosshair so i fixed that :)

http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/1504-1.PNG

also, updated
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 17, 2011 20:29

8 hours of battle against opengl has won me a cloud layer and a sun
better than nothing :/

Image
agamemnus
Posts: 1842
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 4:48

Postby agamemnus » Apr 19, 2011 18:23

Nice.


The pointer should be about 2 times bigger, and be a shovel...
Rainwulf
Posts: 35
Joined: Mar 28, 2007 11:33

Postby Rainwulf » Apr 25, 2011 9:21

Asking you as a coder, how did you keep the mouse grabbed and use it for input?
Having issues with that at the moment.
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 25, 2011 10:36

Rainwulf wrote:Asking you as a coder, how did you keep the mouse grabbed and use it for input?
Having issues with that at the moment.


SW is screenwidth, SH screenheight

Initialization:

Code: Select all

   lastmx = SW \ 2
   lastmy = SH \ 2
   glfwSetMousePos(lastmx, lastmy)
   glfwDisable(GLFW_MOUSE_CURSOR)



Movement:

Code: Select all

Sub MouseMovement Cdecl(x As Integer, y As Integer)

'lastmx/my is the previous mouse position
   If lastmx=x And lastmy=y Then Exit Sub

   Dim As Single deltax, deltay
   deltax = x * 0.75 + lastmx * 0.25
   deltay = y * 0.75 + lastmy * 0.25
   
'clamp the rotations
   yrot += CSng(deltax - lastmx) * 0.4
   xrot += CSng(deltay - lastmy) * 0.4
   If xrot > 89 Then xrot = 89
   If xrot < -89 Then xrot = -89
   If yrot < 0 Then yrot += 360
   If yrot >= 360 Then yrot -= 360
    yrotrad = yrot * PI / 180
   xrotrad = xrot * PI / 180

'to get dx/dy/dz use
' dx = sin(yrot) * cos(xrot)
' dy = -sin(xrot)
' dz = -cos(yrot) * cos(xrot)

   'move mouse to center
   glfwSetMousePos(SW\2, SH\2)   
   lastmx = SW \ 2
   lastmy = SH \ 2
End Sub



The project has been updated again

http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/2404-1.PNG

* inventory with placeholder graphics
* basic crafting
* player hand
* new cloud and water shaders
* improvements all over the place
Rainwulf
Posts: 35
Joined: Mar 28, 2007 11:33

Postby Rainwulf » Apr 25, 2011 12:03

Thanks for that.
You are using opengl to do it.
Do you know how to do it in a normal fbgraphics window?
I am doing all the basic stuff first in a normal graphics window using wireframe display lists, then simply transporting that into ogl..

im still working on the simple movement and rotations and the like, and i cant get the damn mouse to stay in the window.

i may have to push forward my conversion to ogl heh.
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 26, 2011 14:40

Rainwulf wrote:Do you know how to do it in a normal fbgraphics window?


Sorry, I don't
but you need to disable the mouse pointer and draw something in the center of the screen
its that simple
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 27, 2011 19:05

The client has been updated, but we're having a problem with textures
if you wanna help, download the updater which is now downgraded to .net 2.0 which hopefully more people have
and see if any textures are either missing, or "corrupted", which will cause a crash at some point for some reason

http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/2704-2.PNG
The desert makes me feel small :)
agamemnus
Posts: 1842
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 4:48

Postby agamemnus » Apr 27, 2011 21:01

Just saw leopardpm's link... That mediafire link still works, at least for me.. nice job.
Last edited by agamemnus on Apr 27, 2011 21:04, edited 1 time in total.
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 27, 2011 21:04

agamemnus wrote:Works for me instantly...


i forgot to mention its related to the quickbar at the bottom, or the inventory screen
maybe the sky and the sun
(press I for inventory)

but, if its all ok then thats good! :)
agamemnus
Posts: 1842
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 4:48

Postby agamemnus » Apr 27, 2011 21:04

I was talking about something else.. got the pages confused. :X

Edit: anyway, would help if you had a link for your updating program on your first post..


Edit 2: just tried latest version... all the icons in the bottom-center are gone, and now there is some sort of "punching block" on the right side of my screen..
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 27, 2011 21:16

agamemnus wrote:Edit 2: just tried latest version... all the icons in the bottom-center are gone, and now there is some sort of "punching block" on the right side of my screen..


the icons in the bottom have been moved into the inventory (which is opened by pressing I)

when you open the inventory you can move stuff around, where the bottom bar will make the icons appear in the quickbar again (the one at the bottom)

you can craft stuff now as well :) with the crafting 3x3 box in the inventory
for example 1 block of wood makes 4 planks
Last edited by Gonzo on Apr 29, 2011 14:54, edited 1 time in total.
agamemnus
Posts: 1842
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 4:48

Postby agamemnus » Apr 27, 2011 21:52

Hmm, ok.

I have no idea what to do with any of the blocks in the inventory icon, nor what they are (which one is the wood?)...

Is there a way to move them to the list on the bottom-center?
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 27, 2011 22:46

agamemnus wrote:Hmm, ok.

I have no idea what to do with any of the blocks in the inventory icon, nor what they are (which one is the wood?)...

Is there a way to move them to the list on the bottom-center?


yep, just move the blocks in the inventory to the bottom bar in the inventory and theyll show in the quickbar
the bottom bar in the inventory is slightly separated from the rest of the inventory

also, to get a wood block youll have to mine a tree, so to speak
right click and hold on a palm for example, it will be placed into a free spot in the inventory

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 33 guests