Procedural block world project

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Mar 09, 2011 21:51

http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/ssao.PNG

ive added msaa, near-texture-aa, bloom, screenspace ambient occlusion, depth of field
but some are poorly written or just not fitting in, so im in the process of rewriting them... dont know how long that will take :)

especially the SSAO effect doesnt work well with blocks, because it relies on "subtle changes in depth", where blocks are sharp, and.. more sharp

http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/bettershaders.PNG

world curvature + curving :)
the world curvature is annoying, so its off by default, or removed :P
but my special homemade curving is awesome!

http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/tntworkqfixed.PNG

for posterity, i just fixed a bug in the work queue that ive been debugging for a month now
thank god!!
St_W
Posts: 1467
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Postby St_W » Mar 17, 2011 7:42

I've tried downloading the current version several times yet, but always get a 404 error.

Maybe you could fix that.
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Mar 17, 2011 21:20

no build is available at the moment
i dont know if i will post builds in the future, either
sorry :/
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Mar 28, 2011 17:17

http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/lighttresholdfixes.PNG

lots of shader stuff
major improvements to generation speeds
better lighting / shadows
i also wrote my own SSAO, because what i could find on the internet simply didnt work with cubes

not much else to report, since i havent posted any builds for my testers in weeks
but things are starting to come together now
mostly im just happy things are starting to work again :P
agamemnus
Posts: 1842
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 4:48

Postby agamemnus » Mar 28, 2011 18:56

The textures just pop!
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Mar 29, 2011 21:47

... and this screen is after testing and complaint-removal
http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/take4.PNG
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 02, 2011 22:22

not relevant anymore
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 07, 2011 21:52

Image

if you want to help test:
http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/fbcraft/fbupdater.exe
run this to always get the latest version
counting_pine
Site Admin
Posts: 6169
Joined: Jul 05, 2005 17:32
Location: Manchester, Lancs

Postby counting_pine » Apr 08, 2011 14:59

Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 09, 2011 22:25

added simple water reflection at great gpu cost =)
http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/reflection4.PNG

if you are testing, you need to append reflections = 1 in config.ini in a later build (its not live yet)
St_W
Posts: 1467
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Postby St_W » Apr 09, 2011 22:42

Your updater crashes with a "System.Net.WebException": Http error 500

It seems like you've given an odd url for the update.php file.

Furthermore - if using web requests in .net - please use the asynchronous version of WebClient, HttpWebRequest or WebRequest. Otherwise the program hangs while performing the web request.

A simple try - catch - finally block would prevent your program from crashing in case of network errors.
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 09, 2011 22:51

St_W wrote:Your updater crashes with a "System.Net.WebException": Http error 500

It seems like you've given an odd url for the update.php file.

Furthermore - if using web requests in .net - please use the asynchronous version of WebClient, HttpWebRequest or WebRequest. Otherwise the program hangs while performing the web request.

A simple try - catch - finally block would prevent your program from crashing in case of network errors.


actually the php service is down, and i dont know why
i might have to contact the webhost, but ill wait until tomorrow and see if its still down

the downloader is made by another guy in the team, but ill pass the message along :)
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 12, 2011 21:22

http://fbcraft.fwsnet.net/fbcraft/fbupdater.exe
back up and should work fine now :)

FPS:
* make sure to set multisampling to 0, if you are getting low fps
* don't enable reflections, it will demolish fps, unless you have a high-end computer (it requires 2 rendering passes)
* anisotropic filtering requires more cpu than you'd think!

Overall speed:
in the config you can set the size of the rendered world as follows:
sectors_axis = 64
sectors_axisy = 48
measured in sectors, make sure to keep these numbers a multiple of the gridsize!
48x32x48 should be ok to render for a normal computer

and, if for some reason you're sitting there with a notebook reading this
don't even try! no hope :)
agamemnus
Posts: 1842
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 4:48

Postby agamemnus » Apr 13, 2011 19:25

It would help to have a text file with the commands. I just don't know what to do.

PS: using a laptop, and my gfx card isn't even stressed. :P
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Postby Gonzo » Apr 13, 2011 19:45

i have made some changes recently that have increased fps alot
and world generation has been doubled today :)

as for gameplay, there isnt any
you can add/remove any block, i havent really added much in that respect lately
but there will be new gameplay after easter, during which i will implement inventory and crafting

F = toggle flying
R/T = fly up / down

WASD + space = movement

right click to "mine", left click to place a block from whichever slot is selected in the bottom-bar

0-9 / mousewheel selects slots from bottom-bar

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest