FBDeathmatch Engine Test Released!

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
The Car
Posts: 101
Joined: Jul 08, 2005 19:02
Location: MN, USA
Contact:

FBDeathmatch Engine Test Released!

Postby The Car » May 27, 2010 4:57

Hi all,

I have the game at a point where people can connect to a server running on the internet.

Image

**************************************
Patch 1.1: Specify your name and invert mouse in config. Fixed rocket freeze issue.
Patch 1.2: Fixed network code so you do not have to open a firewall port.

If you haven't downloaded anything yet: Click Here To Download Full Package.

If you have already downloaded the full package: Click Here For Latest Patch

**************************************

Notes:
- Windows only build.
- The video/sound/server connection settings are in config.txt
- WASD keys move. Left mouse shoots, Right mouse jumps.
- Ignore the player model for the time being. ;-)

Let me know if you are able to connect and run around and shoot!

More information about this project can be found HERE.

Eric
Last edited by The Car on May 28, 2010 6:00, edited 5 times in total.
D.J.Peters
Posts: 7429
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28

Postby D.J.Peters » May 27, 2010 14:15

Looks great so far good job.

Is the Irrlicht wrapper or tsne windows only or why is it ?

Joshy
The Car
Posts: 101
Joined: Jul 08, 2005 19:02
Location: MN, USA
Contact:

Postby The Car » May 27, 2010 14:22

Thanks! No, both are cross platform.

I do have some small code for windows only so when you alt-tab to another program the game releases its handle on the mouse and pauses itself.

I don't have a nix box running yet either.

With my next update I'll include the source code so people can compile themselves. :-)

Eric
vdecampo
Posts: 2981
Joined: Aug 07, 2007 23:20
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Postby vdecampo » May 27, 2010 14:23

Looks great! I haven't had a chance to test it yet, but I will. I do have a question about the level design. Are you using BSP's or some other format? And are you using some kind of third party tool to edit the levels?

-Vince
The Car
Posts: 101
Joined: Jul 08, 2005 19:02
Location: MN, USA
Contact:

Postby The Car » May 27, 2010 14:28

I am using Irrlicht's ability to read bsp files.

At the moment I've just been using custom quake3arena maps that people made that include close to 100% custom textures.

I'll probably make some simple levels of my own since I've done that in the past for quake/counterstrike.

Eric
1000101
Posts: 2556
Joined: Jun 13, 2005 23:14
Location: SK, Canada

Postby 1000101 » May 27, 2010 16:05

Nice demo but when I shot the floor in front of me my missile and I both got stuck.

Obverse.

Also, your mouse look up/down is inverted from standard fps and uses flight control up/down. This isn't a bug, it just threw me off when looking around.

Still, pretty awesome.
The Car
Posts: 101
Joined: Jul 08, 2005 19:02
Location: MN, USA
Contact:

Postby The Car » May 27, 2010 16:13

Thanks for testing. I was able to reproduce that as well.. Oh well.. more bugs :)

I've updated the links to include an invert Y option, it is now off by default.
The Car
Posts: 101
Joined: Jul 08, 2005 19:02
Location: MN, USA
Contact:

Postby The Car » May 27, 2010 18:31

1000101, I fixed the "getting stuck" issue - it was a server side bug.
Frank Dodd
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 10, 2006 19:22

Postby Frank Dodd » May 27, 2010 19:27

I've only just spotted this thread, great work on the program its looking very fluid and playable, good luck with it.
badmrbox
Posts: 659
Joined: Oct 27, 2005 14:40
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Postby badmrbox » May 27, 2010 20:23

It runs smoothly :P.
vdecampo
Posts: 2981
Joined: Aug 07, 2007 23:20
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Postby vdecampo » May 27, 2010 21:12

I can run it on my Linux box under WINE but I can't control anything. I get a decent 31FPS and I can hear the music and see the level, but I can't move or shoot.

:(

-Vince
The Car
Posts: 101
Joined: Jul 08, 2005 19:02
Location: MN, USA
Contact:

Postby The Car » May 28, 2010 5:54

All, I updated the client and server so you NO LONGER need to forward a port in your firewall. Please download the latest patch and test.. :)

Eric
St_W
Posts: 1379
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Postby St_W » May 28, 2010 8:45

I couldn't manage to get the game running.
I've updated to the latest version (1.2), but i can't play. The status window shows that the connection was successful, but the game window shows a loss of 100%.

I've uploaded some screenshots:
http://img143.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=game01.png

Do I have to press a special key combination to start?
What am I doing wrong?

(I am using Windows XP Professional 32bit)
1000101
Posts: 2556
Joined: Jun 13, 2005 23:14
Location: SK, Canada

Postby 1000101 » May 28, 2010 13:35

I must be good at breaking things, I found a wall which doesn't always cause the missiles to explode. :P

It's a missile cushion!
relsoft
Posts: 1767
Joined: May 27, 2005 10:34
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Postby relsoft » May 28, 2010 13:58

Woot!! Nice looking game you got there!!!

Too bad I have a 2g wireless connection. :*(

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests