FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2020.07.20)

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
Kuan Hsu
Posts: 473
Joined: Sep 16, 2007 15:12
Location: Taiwan

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.21)

Postby Kuan Hsu » Jan 22, 2018 11:37

Dinosaur wrote:Hi All

Kuan Hsu I think you picked the wrong window.
In the pic below, if you try to select ingredients(userdata as any*) the horizontal scroll bar pops up and wont let you select that last entry.
Isn't it just a case of printing another blank line after the last entry ?

I'm using Linux mint 18.3 Cinnamon, Overlay Scrollbar is on( LEFT ) / off( RIGHT ):
Image Image

Dinosaur wrote:I have retested the Goto Definition and that works from any of the .Bas modules and will jump to correct line in Declares.bi.
The problems with "Goto Member Procedure" have not changed.

The Debugger needs more time for me to clarify what I am expecting and what you have already provided.

Regards
Edit:
If you use "Goto Member Procedure" it will in some cases jump to the first line of that Procedure
which is the Sub MyProcedure line.
If you then place the cursor on MyProcedure and right click for "Goto Definition" it ignores the request.
The "Goto Definition" seems unpredictable. One moment I test it, and it will repeatedly jump to the correct line in Declares.bi
then the next time I try it, it will jump to the procedure instead of the definition ???
Yet, if I use "Goto Definition" on library functions it will open a new window with the .bi file for that library and hilight the correct line.
It seems most of the issues are with the .bas modules, and I suspect it has something to do with the .bas module order.
Many times it will "Goto Member Procedure" forward through the .bas modules, but not backwards.
After add some code about check the SUB/FUNCTION is Declare or not while using "Goto Definition", the bug should be fixed.
Fixed at rev.358

Dinosaur wrote:Edit2:
Program crashes whenever I use Options/Preference/Editor/Load Previous Documents
Total of 7 Modules = approx 200 kb with 4500 lines of code.
If reduce it to 5 Modules = 140 kb with 3100 lines of code then no problem.
Everytime? I can't Reproduce it, I try my parserFB project files = 20 modules, 313KB, 3951 lines of code.....
marpon
Posts: 342
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 13:31
Location: Paris - France

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby marpon » Jan 22, 2018 17:41

I'm testing the last version linux 64 v 358

no more problem with the fbc path
no more problem with saved console position

i've replaced the libiupscintilla.so by the one in the tar file on your github
i've put it on the usr/lib folder , is it what is intended to do?

and very good the nested comment blocks are working now... good job
is it the modified LexBasic.cxx lexer used for that ?
Dinosaur
Posts: 1363
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay
Contact:

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Dinosaur » Jan 22, 2018 21:30

Hi All

I did not know that the scroll bar was being controlled by Mint (18.3 Cinnamon).
I thought it was part of your program, that is why I persisted.
Haven't found yet where to set that, but not urgent.

Re: Crash
On previous versions, When I click on the desktop Poseidon Icon, it would open the program, start loading modules
and then shut down without any error message. It did that ever time.
Then when I reduced the number of files before Exiting the program, it worked ok.
I repeated this at least 20 times.

However, on your latest version it hasn't happened, so I will watch and report if & when.
I will also retest the "Goto Member Procedure"

Regards
Achaean
Posts: 51
Joined: Aug 02, 2017 12:54

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Achaean » Jan 23, 2018 0:32

Hi! :-)

Somewhat late on this thread, but I just gave Poseidon a try.
Last version.0.358, IUP v3.23 on Debian Jessie x64 KDE.

1) Following the manual instructions, I went to (1) Custom compiler options and at the "Set Custom Compiler Options" window, a created a DEFAULT profile. Though, there's no "Apply" (checkmark) button.
Image

2) Preferences box, is a bit messy.
Image

3) Launching Poseidon from konsole, I'm getting the message:
"Gtk-Message: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.".

4) Manual needs to be at CHM format?
I can't see this format at downloads (Only PDF and ODT).
Dinosaur
Posts: 1363
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay
Contact:

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Dinosaur » Jan 23, 2018 1:13

Hi All

Kuan Hsu I was going to send you a PM or a zip file of a dummy project to show you the problem
with "Goto Member Procedure", but seems I can't find how to do either.
So here is code.
Mod0.bas

Code: Select all

#Include Once "Declares.bi"
#Include Once "Mod1.bas"
#Include Once "Mod2.bas"
#Include Once "Mod3.bas"

Sub Routine1()
    Routine2
End Sub

Mod1.bas

Code: Select all

Sub Routine2()
    Routine3
End Sub

Sub Routine3()
    Routine4
End Sub

Mod2.bas

Code: Select all

Sub Routine4()
    Routine1
    Routine6
End Sub

Mod3.bas

Code: Select all

Sub Routine5
    Routine1
    Routine6
End Sub

Sub Routine6
    Routine3
End Sub

Declares.bi

Code: Select all

Declare Sub Routine0()
Declare Sub Routine1()
Declare Sub Routine2()
Declare Sub Routine3()
Declare Sub Routine4()
Declare Sub Routine5()
Declare Sub Routine6()
Now make a project and compile it, then use the "Goto Member Procedure" in the various basic modules
and you will see the problem.
Try going to Routine1 from Mod3.

Regards
Dinosaur
Posts: 1363
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay
Contact:

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Dinosaur » Jan 23, 2018 20:15

Hi All

Does anyone know how to see the output from gdb ?
If I type a command in the debugger window, it shows the command being sent
to gdb, but the result of the command is not visible.

Considering that I am debugging a GUI, I tried to redirect the output to console with tty, but
other then not seeing my gui, there is no other Terminal display opened, nor does it show info
on the gdb screen.

Regards
Kuan Hsu
Posts: 473
Joined: Sep 16, 2007 15:12
Location: Taiwan

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Kuan Hsu » Jan 24, 2018 13:14

marpon wrote:I'm testing the last version linux 64 v 358

no more problem with the fbc path
no more problem with saved console position

i've replaced the libiupscintilla.so by the one in the tar file on your github
i've put it on the usr/lib folder , is it what is intended to do?

and very good the nested comment blocks are working now... good job
is it the modified LexBasic.cxx lexer used for that ?

Yes, I also uploaded modified LexBasic.cxx~~
Kuan Hsu
Posts: 473
Joined: Sep 16, 2007 15:12
Location: Taiwan

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Kuan Hsu » Jan 24, 2018 13:22

Achaean wrote:Hi! :-)

Somewhat late on this thread, but I just gave Poseidon a try.
Last version.0.358, IUP v3.23 on Debian Jessie x64 KDE.

1) Following the manual instructions, I went to (1) Custom compiler options and at the "Set Custom Compiler Options" window, a created a DEFAULT profile. Though, there's no "Apply" (checkmark) button.

2) Preferences box, is a bit messy.

3) Launching Poseidon from konsole, I'm getting the message:
"Gtk-Message: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.".

4) Manual needs to be at CHM format?
I can't see this format at downloads (Only PDF and ODT).

(1)Some behavior change, just click "OK" to save.
(2)I'm confuse about the layout, the issue is about my code? or KDE?
(3)But it is work, am I right? I'm not a professional linux coder ( nor Windows ), I don't know what's happen, but google is my good friend, I'll check it out.
https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/debian-26/%5Bsolved%5D-gtk-message-gtkdialog-mapped-without-a-transient-parent-this-is-discouraged-4175550278/
(4)Yes, freeBASIC manual chm: https://sourceforge.net/projects/fbc/files/Documentation/
Last edited by Kuan Hsu on Jan 24, 2018 13:28, edited 2 times in total.
Kuan Hsu
Posts: 473
Joined: Sep 16, 2007 15:12
Location: Taiwan

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Kuan Hsu » Jan 24, 2018 13:24

Dinosaur wrote:Hi All

Kuan Hsu I was going to send you a PM or a zip file of a dummy project to show you the problem
with "Goto Member Procedure", but seems I can't find how to do either.

Now make a project and compile it, then use the "Goto Member Procedure" in the various basic modules
and you will see the problem.
Try going to Routine1 from Mod3.

Regards
Yes, I got the problem and try to fix at rev.359, please check it...^^
Achaean
Posts: 51
Joined: Aug 02, 2017 12:54

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.24)

Postby Achaean » Jan 24, 2018 14:37

Achaean
Posts: 51
Joined: Aug 02, 2017 12:54

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Achaean » Jan 24, 2018 16:48

Kuan Hsu wrote:(1)Some behavior change, just click "OK" to save.

Oh...OK!

Kuan Hsu wrote:(2)I'm confuse about the layout, the issue is about my code? or KDE?

Probably KDE. Let me try out another desktop and I'll be back.

Kuan Hsu wrote:(3)But it is work, am I right? I'm not a professional linux coder ( nor Windows ), I don't know what's happen, but google is my good friend, I'll check it out.
https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/debian-26/%5Bsolved%5D-gtk-message-gtkdialog-mapped-without-a-transient-parent-this-is-discouraged-4175550278/

Oh...Seems to be yet another meaningless message, safe to ignore.

Kuan Hsu wrote:(4)Yes, freeBASIC manual chm: https://sourceforge.net/projects/fbc/files/Documentation/

Oh...I confused it with Poseidon's manual and I was pointing to the wrong file.
Now everything's perfect!
Dinosaur
Posts: 1363
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay
Contact:

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.24)

Postby Dinosaur » Jan 24, 2018 17:51

Hi All

Kuan Hsu sorry to tell you that "Goto Member Procedure" is still not working.
Some facts:
1: It works perfectly in the Test project that I sent you.(because it is small ??)

In my larger project:
2: It works within the Main .bas file, jumping forwards & backwards.
3: It works going to other .bas modules from Main.bas file.

Hint: If you open a Declares.bi file with lots of declares in it, it will jump to all the declares
from there that are in the Main.bas file, BUT it won't jump to any of the other .bas modules.

Regards

PS: In the latest version the program still crashes when I set "Load Previous Documents"
Achaean
Posts: 51
Joined: Aug 02, 2017 12:54

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.22)

Postby Achaean » Jan 24, 2018 18:04

Kuan Hsu wrote:(2)I'm confuse about the layout, the issue is about my code? or KDE?

It's KDE. Confirmed.
I tested all available from repositories desktops.
It works perfectly with all of them except KDE and OpenBox.

Important: I'm (still) on KDE4.
Does someone have KDE5 installed?
If so, can he tell us, how well Poseidon integrates with it???
Kuan Hsu
Posts: 473
Joined: Sep 16, 2007 15:12
Location: Taiwan

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.24)

Postby Kuan Hsu » Jan 25, 2018 16:07

Dinosaur wrote:Hi All

Kuan Hsu sorry to tell you that "Goto Member Procedure" is still not working.
Some facts:
1: It works perfectly in the Test project that I sent you.(because it is small ??)

In my larger project:
2: It works within the Main .bas file, jumping forwards & backwards.
3: It works going to other .bas modules from Main.bas file.

Hint: If you open a Declares.bi file with lots of declares in it, it will jump to all the declares
from there that are in the Main.bas file, BUT it won't jump to any of the other .bas modules.

Regards

PS: In the latest version the program still crashes when I set "Load Previous Documents"

Umm.....I see...........
The keyword = Rewrite the code

(1) About "Goto Member Procedure", please try at rev.360, tks~
(2) About "Load Previous Documents", please try at rev.360, I disable load file at back thread.
Dinosaur
Posts: 1363
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay
Contact:

Re: FreeBasic IDE-poseidonFB(Update 2018.01.26)

Postby Dinosaur » Jan 26, 2018 15:35

Hi All

Kuan Hsu it appears you have solved both problems.
Early times, but I wanted to let you know, but will continue to tests.

One interesting change is that Ctrl Left Click anywhere in many routines will jump to "Goto Definition" of that Routine.
I found this out when I was testing Debug.
Ctrl Left Click in Line Number margin would jump to "Goto Definition" but then if you go back to the routine,
the red rectangle is there for the breakpoint BUT that breakpoint won't work.

Regards

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: classd2008 and 5 guests