The Crown of Alegare

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
rdc
Posts: 1713
Joined: May 27, 2005 17:22
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby rdc » Sep 11, 2012 21:30

Thanks man. I just want to also say that you guys have always been very supportive of my efforts and I really appreciate it. It makes it all worth it.
Ryan
Posts: 695
Joined: Jun 10, 2005 2:13
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Ryan » Sep 12, 2012 14:02

Quick off-topic, but since I know Jocke is following this thread, you'll want to read this series as it develops:

http://crpgaddict.blogspot.com/search/l ... c%20Candle

The CRPG Addict playing through The Magic Candle.

Slightly on-topic, he has a great series of posts about the specific Roguelike games he's played (primarily Rogue and Nethack thus far) and broader posts about Roguelike and general RPG design. Hope I didn't just ruin anyone's productivity for the week. : )
Jocke The Beast
Posts: 272
Joined: May 28, 2005 10:21
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Jocke The Beast » Sep 14, 2012 18:56

Ryan: thanks for that one. Great reading (read two nethack articles that was great).
Shouldn't you also get on with a roguelike? Rick is the only one actually doing roguelikes :) The rest of us (at least ME) just talks about roguelikes :)

Rick: Any news? :) We're eager as always ;)
Ryan
Posts: 695
Joined: Jun 10, 2005 2:13
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Ryan » Sep 15, 2012 18:26

hehe I just play Brogue and wish I could make ASCII look that pretty. ; )

If I could only get libtcod to work in FB, I'd be in action...
TJF
Posts: 3456
Joined: Dec 06, 2009 22:27
Location: N47°, E15°

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby TJF » Sep 15, 2012 23:48

Ryan wrote:If I could only get libtcod to work in FB, I'd be in action...


Let's go! Here's an example:

Jonge
Posts: 129
Joined: Jul 17, 2012 17:51
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Jonge » Sep 16, 2012 19:46

Heh no more excuses now Jocke & Ryan, start coding =)
Jocke The Beast
Posts: 272
Joined: May 28, 2005 10:21
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Jocke The Beast » Sep 17, 2012 9:38

Ouch... No more excuses I guess :)
Ryan
Posts: 695
Joined: Jun 10, 2005 2:13
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Ryan » Sep 23, 2012 1:49

Whoa, dude. I guess it's time to try it again. : D
rdc
Posts: 1713
Joined: May 27, 2005 17:22
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby rdc » Sep 23, 2012 15:39

A little update.

I have decided that I am going to make a couple of utility programs to make the data part of this a little easier. I need to define the items before I can fully define the monsters, since some monsters drop items, and it is quite tedious to switch back and forth between the two trying to figure out what is what. Another benefit is that instead of using text files for the data, which I have to parse, I can use type arrays which are extremely easy to save and load, and a bit more secure. Updating the data will be much easier, and folks can use the programs to redefine things if they want. A better solution all around I think. Once I get through this part of the game, things will move along much easier and faster.

I also changed up the fonts a bit; check the album for pics. I am still trying out different fonts on the character generation screen to come up with a good combination. Once I hit on a good set, I can use that for the class screen as well.

Oh, just a teaser here. You may remember my little tutorial on action objects I did way back. I have some fun plans using those in this game. Watch out for traps! :)
rdc
Posts: 1713
Joined: May 27, 2005 17:22
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby rdc » Sep 23, 2012 16:53

Pic deleted. Project has changed.
Last edited by rdc on Feb 10, 2013 22:26, edited 1 time in total.
Jonge
Posts: 129
Joined: Jul 17, 2012 17:51
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Jonge » Sep 23, 2012 18:16

Looks much better :)
Jocke The Beast
Posts: 272
Joined: May 28, 2005 10:21
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Jocke The Beast » Sep 23, 2012 22:08

Agreed. Look better.

Nice to hear you're still working hard on it! Fun to see how you'll make your traps more "sexy" ;)
rdc
Posts: 1713
Joined: May 27, 2005 17:22
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby rdc » Sep 24, 2012 4:24

Heh. Imagine opening a chest in a room. The chest doesn't open but all the doors close and lock, and a few baddies spawn in the room with you. Say a fire elemental, a soul eater, a vault guard and shadow wrath want to get cozy. The room and doors are made of ironwood so you can't tunnel out. If you kill them all, the chest opens and you find a nice epic item. Fun times indeed. :)
Jocke The Beast
Posts: 272
Joined: May 28, 2005 10:21
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby Jocke The Beast » Sep 24, 2012 11:57

Nice one :) The possibilities will be endless :)

Any idea when we can expect a walk-around-demo?
rdc
Posts: 1713
Joined: May 27, 2005 17:22
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: The Crown of Alegare

Postby rdc » Sep 24, 2012 18:35

It will be a while probably. I want to define the data set first so I know what I am dealing with as far as data structures go. This is the hardest part of these games, so I want to get most of it done at the first. There really is a ton of items and enemies in this game, so there is a lot to it.

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests