QuickFix for FBIDE

User contributed sources that have become inactive, deprecated, or generally unusable. But ... we don't really want to throw them away either.
Post Reply
Mysoft
Posts: 836
Joined: Jul 28, 2005 13:56
Location: Brazil, Santa Catarina, Indaial (ouch!)
Contact:

QuickFix for FBIDE

Post by Mysoft »

ok, i should have published this long ago...

but i made a quick fix for FbIde bug that make it hang when F1 is pressed and there are more than one occurence for the same keyword on help...

(when the cursor is on "input" keyword for example...)

so here is the patcher + fixer dll
i may later be doing a proper fix, but for now this one
is working nicely...

'source + executables' here
fxm
Moderator
Posts: 12081
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Post by fxm »

Thank you.
I was often annoyed by this problem.
badidea
Posts: 2586
Joined: May 24, 2007 22:10
Location: The Netherlands

Post by badidea »

Good news.
Had to redo code in the past because of this bug.
counting_pine
Site Admin
Posts: 6323
Joined: Jul 05, 2005 17:32
Location: Manchester, Lancs

Post by counting_pine »

Wow, looks a little complex. How does it work?
fxm
Moderator
Posts: 12081
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Post by fxm »

See file FixerReadme.txt in the zip.
It works.
Mysoft
Posts: 836
Joined: Jul 28, 2005 13:56
Location: Brazil, Santa Catarina, Indaial (ouch!)
Contact:

Post by Mysoft »

counting_pine wrote:Wow, looks a little complex. How does it work?
the patcher... look for OLEAUT32.DLL inside the .exe and change it to
FbIdeFix.dll

i choose this .dll cuz it's the one that have less functions... so i made a dll myself, and only added the single function the program is using from this dll (as a wrapper to the real OLEAUT32.DLL), but so when the program load the dll and execute the "constructor", it then create a thread... that is what i will be using for the fix...

the window that cause the problem... is a windows from windows help... so when the programs calls the interface that popup the window it doesn't return imediatelly when there's ambiguous... so that make the "MessageLoop" from fbi to hang... i didnt tried to fix that, cuz that would involve wrapping the whole "help" class, or some extensive debug... i didnt wanted to do that for now... so what i did is:

1) i located FbIde main window...
2) i wait... and keep checking if "FbIde" window enter in the "not responding" state...
3) as soon it do i search for "dialogs" that have FbIde as owner...
4) then i send the "enter" key to that dialog... so it will choose the first option and resume the application
dodicat
Posts: 7976
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Post by dodicat »

Thanks Mysoft
I'll use it.

Sometimes the search fails in fbide, sometimes the cursor becomes a line and it is difficult to use when this happens.
But it is a good IDE.
fbEDIT on the other hand freezes too often, especially loading large files, or a file with a long line.
dani.user
Posts: 284
Joined: Sep 30, 2006 10:41

Post by dani.user »

Haven't used FBIDE for a while now.
Is it the same version on which development stopped a few years ago or did it evolve?
relsoft
Posts: 1767
Joined: May 27, 2005 10:34
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by relsoft »

dodicat wrote:Thanks Mysoft
I'll use it.

Sometimes the search fails in fbide, sometimes the cursor becomes a line and it is difficult to use when this happens.
But it is a good IDE.
fbEDIT on the other hand freezes too often, especially loading large files, or a file with a long line.
FBide had never crashed on me at all. Hmmmm... Maybe my files are not big enough?
dodicat
Posts: 7976
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Post by dodicat »

relsoft wrote:
dodicat wrote:Thanks Mysoft
I'll use it.

Sometimes the search fails in fbide, sometimes the cursor becomes a line and it is difficult to use when this happens.
But it is a good IDE.
fbEDIT on the other hand freezes too often, especially loading large files, or a file with a long line.
FBide had never crashed on me at all. Hmmmm... Maybe my files are not big enough?
fbEDIT crashes.
Try this with fbedit, fbide and notepad, if you have a couple of minutes.
No joke , it's a one liner!

Code: Select all

 8 = E R g ‰ >4 G3 U7 6: 9‡ ?‘ I„ 4B1 sq :9^ A7; L6i ^T8 7bI <=
Imortis
Moderator
Posts: 1923
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 15:10
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Imortis »

dodicat wrote:
relsoft wrote:
dodicat wrote:Thanks Mysoft
I'll use it.

Sometimes the search fails in fbide, sometimes the cursor becomes a line and it is difficult to use when this happens.
But it is a good IDE.
fbEDIT on the other hand freezes too often, especially loading large files, or a file with a long line.
FBide had never crashed on me at all. Hmmmm... Maybe my files are not big enough?
fbEDIT crashes.
Try this with fbedit, fbide and notepad, if you have a couple of minutes.
No joke , it's a one liner!

Code: Select all

 8 = E R g ‰ >4 G3 U7 6: 9‡ ?‘ I„ 4B1 sq :9^ A7; L6i ^T8 7bI <=
dodicat
Posts: 7976
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Post by dodicat »

Thanks Imortis
I downloaded the latest version of fbEDIT, it's ok now.
fxm
Moderator
Posts: 12081
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Post by fxm »

In FBIde 0.4.6, there is another small bug using the function Search/Find with direction up.
Research hangs permanently after the first occurrence found !
Each time, we must reverse the cursor before the current match to find up the next occurrence.
Mysoft
Posts: 836
Joined: Jul 28, 2005 13:56
Location: Brazil, Santa Catarina, Indaial (ouch!)
Contact:

Post by Mysoft »

fxm wrote:In FBIde 0.4.6, there is another small bug using the function Search/Find with direction up.
Research hangs permanently after the first occurrence found !
Each time, we must reverse the cursor before the current match to find up the next occurrence.
hum... i can fix that as well
Post Reply