DIR statement : file attributes for Newbies

Post your FreeBASIC source, examples, tips and tricks here. Please don’t post code without including an explanation.
Trinity

Post by Trinity »

As a Newbie I have spent some time trying to find out about the "out_attrib" when using the DIR statement (ref. FB manual : https://www.freebasic.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=KeyPgDir)
I think that the manual is a bit thin on the information on the File Attributes return values of "out_attrib" when describing the use of DIR.
After some experimentation I have compiled a list of the return values for the six most basics attributes and their combinations , that is for :
"File" , "Directory" , "Archived" , "System" , "Hidden" and "Read-only" .
Here is the list :

out_attrib :

0 = &h00 = File
1 = &h01 = File + Read-only
2 = &h02 = File + Hidden
3 = &h03 = File + Read-only + Hidden
4 = &h04 = File + System
5 = &h05 = File + System + Read-only
6 = &h06 = File + System + Hidden
7 = &h07 = File + System + Hidden + Read-only

16 = &h10 = Directory
17 = &h11 = Directory + Read-only
18 = &h12 = Directory + Hidden
19 = &h13 = Directory + Read-only + Hidden
20 = &h14 = Directory + System
21 = &h15 = Directory + System + Read-only
22 = &h16 = Directory + System + Hidden
23 = &h17 = Directory + System + Hidden + Read-only

32 = &h20 = File + archived
33 = &h21 = File + archived + Read-only
34 = &h22 = File + archived + Hidden
35 = &h23 = File + archived + Read-only + Hidden
36 = &h24 = File + archived + System
37 = &h25 = File + archived + System + Read-only
38 = &h26 = File + archived + System + Hidden
39 = &h27 = File + archived + System + Hidden + Read-only

48 = &h30 = Directory + archived
49 = &h31 = Directory + archived + Read-only
50 = &h32 = Directory + archived + Hidden
51 = &h33 = Directory + archived + Read-only + Hidden
52 = &h34 = Directory + archived + System
53 = &h35 = Directory + archived + System + Read-only
54 = &h36 = Directory + archived + System + Hidden