FBIde on Windows 10 error, Anyone?

Windows specific questions.
GreatKingRat
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 27, 2006 12:30
Location: São João da Boa Vista - SP - Brazil
Contact:

FBIde on Windows 10 error, Anyone?

Postby GreatKingRat » Jul 22, 2017 22:22

Hi folks!


I´ve downloaded the FBIde 0.4.6r4 earlier today and it worked fine.
But now its showing an error message 0xc0000142.
Someone knows how to fix this bug?

Thanls!
St_W
Posts: 1058
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: FBIde on Windows 10 error, Anyone?

Postby St_W » Jul 23, 2017 11:21

GreatKingRat wrote:I´ve downloaded the FBIde 0.4.6r4 earlier today and it worked fine.
But now its showing an error message 0xc0000142.
What did you change between the point when it worked and the later one at which it didn't anymore? Or was that on a different PC/OS?
That error is usually related to missing or incompatible DLLs loaded during application initialization. Check which depends whether you have all the required dependencies available on your PC and the correct ones are loaded.
There are no known compatibility issues for FBide with Win10 and it works fine for many users.

Otherwise I'd suggest to use poseidonFB or any other FreeBasic IDE as FBide is anyway the oldest (and IMHO worst) FB IDE.
fxm
Posts: 7274
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburb, FRANCE

Re: FBIde on Windows 10 error, Anyone?

Postby fxm » Jul 23, 2017 12:24

I am with Win7 on my professional PC.
Often, I get a similar error message (error 0xc0000005), at any FBIde execution attempt (versions 0.4, 0.4.3, 0.4.6) after a PC boot.
Generally, closing then opening a new Windows session is sufficient to solve the problem, but sometimes a full reboot is required.
Remark: by cons, the oldest version "FBIde v0.3.3a" is always working!
Last edited by fxm on Jul 29, 2017 4:47, edited 1 time in total.
GreatKingRat
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 27, 2006 12:30
Location: São João da Boa Vista - SP - Brazil
Contact:

Re: FBIde on Windows 10 error, Anyone?

Postby GreatKingRat » Jul 26, 2017 21:54

St_W wrote:
GreatKingRat wrote:I´ve downloaded the FBIde 0.4.6r4 earlier today and it worked fine.
But now its showing an error message 0xc0000142.
What did you change between the point when it worked and the later one at which it didn't anymore? Or was that on a different PC/OS?
That error is usually related to missing or incompatible DLLs loaded during application initialization. Check which depends whether you have all the required dependencies available on your PC and the correct ones are loaded.
There are no known compatibility issues for FBide with Win10 and it works fine for many users.

Otherwise I'd suggest to use poseidonFB or any other FreeBasic IDE as FBide is anyway the oldest (and IMHO worst) FB IDE.


Nothing, same PC, same OS, same session, i just took off the sreen and left to do something else and when i returned it didn´t worked...
But now it is working again... Maybe some sort of windows update issue...
dodicat
Posts: 4347
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Re: FBIde on Windows 10 error, Anyone?

Postby dodicat » Jul 27, 2017 22:08

There was a massive win 10 update within these last few days.
I think it was called the creators.
Seemingly I can now paint in 3D, which would be great If I could do it properly in 2.

I live out in the sticks with a slow broadband speed. so any continuous download is noticeable here.

I had no hiccups with fbide during the download, and It seems fine after this update.
(I always use fbide)
Very occasionally it plays up, just close it down and start it up again.
Trinity
Posts: 214
Joined: Sep 16, 2017 17:07

Re: FBIde on Windows 10 error, Anyone?

Postby Trinity » Sep 19, 2017 14:44

fxm wrote:I am with Win7 on my professional PC.
Often, I get a similar error message (error 0xc0000005), at any FBIde execution attempt (versions 0.4, 0.4.3, 0.4.6) after a PC boot.
Generally, closing then opening a new Windows session is sufficient to solve the problem, but sometimes a full reboot is required.
Remark: by cons, the oldest version "FBIde v0.3.3a" is always working!


Hello ,
As I wrote over in the WinFBE thread then I had not seen the problem before today and I have run the FBIDE many times a day for more days without ever seeing this error or having any other problem with the IDE (other than related to file permission problems (?) related to the help file) before I tried to install the WinFBE64 on my Win7 , 64bit version . Then when I tried to run the FBIDE then suddenly then the FBIDE stopped working for the first time in my experience. I suddenly got a Windows 7 , 64 Bit pop up when trying to run the FBIDE saying : IDE for FreeBasic Compiler has stopped working , and when closing that an fbide.exe Application Error (oxc0000005)

Among problem details were :
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: fbide.exe
Application Version: 0.4.6.0
Application Timestamp: 43f86d3a
Fault Module Name: mingwm10.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 41e6d69f
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00001870
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.28

But for me the problem apparently fixed itself after a reboot of my PC and it looks as if it was purely coincidental that the problem appeared right after I attempted to install the WinFBE . So for me a reboot did not create the problem but fix it . Also should be pointed out that I had had a lot of stuff running on my PC in the days when I had no problems with the FBIDE including other installers and what not.
Anyway , if I can help investigate the problem then please let me know :-)
Last edited by Trinity on Sep 19, 2017 17:22, edited 1 time in total.
PaulSquires
Posts: 586
Joined: Jul 14, 2005 23:41
Contact:

Re: FBIde on Windows 10 error, Anyone?

Postby PaulSquires » Sep 19, 2017 16:22

This error has nothing to do with the WinFBE install. I agree with you that what you experienced was purely coincidental.

Return to “Windows”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests