New to linux how to run FB

Linux specific questions.
sancho3

New to linux how to run FB

Post by sancho3 »

Hello:
Computer problems forced me into Linux Ubuntu. I have never used Linux before.
I installed freebasic and got to the point where I ran the install script and it returned successfully installed.
I can't run fbc at all. From the terminal I have tried fbc, /fbc, ./fbc. It says no such file or directory.
I am in the /usr/local/bin directory and when I type dir it shows fbc as the only file.
I tried chmod +x fbc, chmod +x fbc.run.
I get nothing.
How do I run fbc?
counting_pine
Site Admin

Re: New to linux how to run FB

Post by counting_pine »

Hi sancho3,
Just a couple of quick pointers about how the Linux terminal generally works:

- if you type in a command without a path before it, it will scan all the folders in the $PATH variable, and run the first executable file it finds.
-- e.g. if you type in 'fbc', if $PATH contains /usr/local/bin, it should find fbc there and run it. (Unlike DOS/Windows, it will not run a copy from the current directory, unless the current directory is in the $PATH)

- if you type in a command with a path, it will try to run the file at that path and nowhere else.
-- e.g. if you type in './fbc', it will look for fbc in the current folder ('.', i.e. the folder you cd'd to.)
-- e.g. if you type in '/fbc', it will look for fbc in the root of the file system ('/'). (You wouldn't normally find executable files there.)

Most of the time I run commands without a path. If you type in 'command -v fbc', it will output the location of the fbc file it tries to run, if any.
The copy of fbc is probably already executable. You can confirm this with 'ls -l /usr/local/bin'. You will probably see an output like this for fbc:

Code: Select all

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1883968 May 21  2016 /usr/local/bin/fbc
Here, the permissions are '-rwxr-xr-x', indicating that any user can read/execute it, but only the owner ('root') can change the file.