How do I install freebasic in ubuntu xenial?

Linux specific questions.
lassar
Posts: 298
Joined: Jan 17, 2006 1:35
Contact:

How do I install freebasic in ubuntu xenial?

Postby lassar » Jan 02, 2018 4:08

How do I install freebasic in ubuntu xenial?

I have checked the forum and all the post is rather old.

What I need to know about is the dependences.
lizard
Posts: 406
Joined: Oct 17, 2017 11:35
Location: Germany

Re: How do I install freebasic in ubuntu xenial?

Postby lizard » Jan 02, 2018 7:15

Should be same or similar in every newer ubuntu:

Code: Select all

# install FreeBasic 1.05 32bit
cd ~/downloads/FreeBASIC-1.05.0-linux-x86
sudo ./install.sh -i

# install dependencies
sudo apt-get install gcc libncurses5-dev libffi-dev libgl1-mesa-dev
sudo apt-get install libx11-dev libxext-dev libxrender-dev libxrandr-dev libxpm-dev


Works here on Mint 18.2 and Kubuntu 17. All 32bit.
counting_pine
Site Admin
Posts: 5954
Joined: Jul 05, 2005 17:32
Location: Manchester, Lancs

Re: How do I install freebasic in ubuntu xenial?

Postby counting_pine » Jan 02, 2018 12:29

For 64-bit Ubuntu, you would either have to install the 64-bit FreeBASIC or the 32-bit libraries.

The wiki page for compiling FB on Linux lists the development packages you need for a few different distros - including for 32-bit versions on 64-bit Linux:
/wiki/DevBuildLinux

Possibly there are slightly more packages there than you need to just compile/run FB programs, but if you have problems, the lists there might help.
speedfixer
Posts: 287
Joined: Nov 28, 2012 1:27
Location: California

Re: How do I install freebasic in ubuntu xenial?

Postby speedfixer » Jan 03, 2018 22:05

I use Lubuntu. Lots of machines at home.

My install script (64 bit) just has:

sudo apt-get install libtinfo-dev libxpm-dev libxrandr-dev

If you are using 32 bit on 64 bit system, you will have to search in synaptic or something for the ...-dev(32) or something in the name.
Even the dev lib names change from time-to-time.

The libs included with any one package change from time-to-time. Sometimes more together - then they get split apart again.
Each distro has a little different mix of what the packager thinks makes a complete package for development.
Here, at least most 'buntu variations usually all use the same lib sets.

Especially, the termcap info lib gets pushed around a lot.

Do something - compile - read the error messages. use -exx ALWAYS until all works great.
Run the program. Programs can compile yet still not have all the libs needed to run the graphics.
use 'ldd' if the program just quits without error noise.

david
sgaba
Posts: 28
Joined: Aug 15, 2005 19:18
Location: Czech Republic

Re: How do I install freebasic in ubuntu xenial?

Postby sgaba » Jan 06, 2018 20:21


Return to “Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest