Houston, we have a bug!

General FreeBASIC programming questions.
Post Reply
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Houston, we have a bug!

Post by deltarho[1859] »

I have an encryption application which was compiled some years ago and have just run it for the first time on Windows 10 and got this.

Image

5.1.2600 is XP SP3

I did not anticipate Windows OS version going into double figures. Easily fixed but a good example of a bug just waiting for the right temperature to come out of hibernation. <smile>
dodicat
Posts: 7983
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Re: Houston, we have a bug!

Post by dodicat »

Here

Code: Select all

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.16299.192]
(c) 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. 
As written on the cmd window.

My XP version is 5.1.2600
What will you fix?
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Houston, we have a bug!

Post by deltarho[1859] »

@dodicat

I think that you may have missed the point of my post.

AuthEnc will not work with a Windows OS version less than 5.1.2600 (XP SP3). My OS version checking code was flawed. An OS version greater than 9 would get wrongly rejected. Needless to say my reaction to a rejection on Windows 10 was "WHAT!"; or words to that effect. <smile>
dodicat
Posts: 7983
Joined: Jan 10, 2006 20:30
Location: Scotland

Re: Houston, we have a bug!

Post by dodicat »

Oh alright, Authenc stops you at the messagebox.
I thought it was an information message (the i logo).
Silly me!
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Houston, we have a bug!

Post by deltarho[1859] »

I was being polite. Perhaps I should have used MB_ICONWARNING.

Some years ago I used MessageBoxIndirect with an icon of a blushing face, employed when a user did something daft. It was not commercial software I hasten to add although I would not object if I was notified in such a way - but that is me.
DamageX
Posts: 130
Joined: Nov 21, 2009 8:42

Re: Houston, we have a bug!

Post by DamageX »

It's GetVersion all over again.

And how do you know that it won't work with a version less than 5.1.2600? Whether your OS checking code works right or not, my vote is that you (and everybody else) just leave it out. Then I won't have to waste time bypassing the check with a hex editor to run software on Windows 2000 when the developers mistakenly believed that it needed XP.
St_W
Posts: 1626
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Houston, we have a bug!

Post by St_W »

Bad version checks have been a problem for years and for many applications the GetVersion(Ex) shim enabled by the application compatibility feature of Windows is the most important one to get an application working.
Historical note about Windows 95 versioning: https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/oldnew ... 0/?p=40633
Post Reply