Using QB4.5 Quick Libraries

General FreeBASIC programming questions.
DonW

Using QB4.5 Quick Libraries

Postby DonW » Feb 16, 2013 1:15

I'm new to freebasic, and after browsing the documentation, faq's, and forums, it is still not clear to me as to whether or not one can use QB4.5 Quick Libraries when compiling QB4.5 code. I have a large application written in QB4.5 which makes use of a few routines in a Quick Library. Unfortunately, I do not have the source code to the needed routines in the library that would allow me to include them in a .BI file.
marcov

Re: Using QB4.5 Quick Libraries

Postby marcov » Feb 16, 2013 20:19

Probably not, since those libs are 16-bit code, and FB only generates 32-bits code.(well, and maybe 64-bit)
DonW

Postby DonW » Feb 18, 2013 5:30

The library code executed are several routines contained in PRO.QLB which is a Quick Library supplied by Crescent Software's QickPak Professional released in 1992. The the use of these routines allow me to create message boxes in QuickBasic that have a similar appearance to the message box features in Visual Basic. According to the documentation in the QuickPak manual, the .QLB code being used are assembler subroutines. So if it is not possible to use these assembler subroutines with freebasic, perhaps someone could share some QB compatible BASIC code that would do the same thing.

Thanks.
anonymous1337

Postby anonymous1337 » Feb 18, 2013 15:34

Hi, DonW. You can actually use the Windows API directly in FreeBASIC. I don't mess with the Windows API too much, but FreeBASIC does have a Visual Designer available for it: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=15796

And some extensions: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=20865

But as far as I know, FreeBASIC doesn't have a simple "MessageBox" command. Maybe it should?
DonW

Postby DonW » Feb 18, 2013 18:25