SCREEN, SCREENRES and WIDTH -- SOLVED

General FreeBASIC programming questions.
MystikShadows
Posts: 606
Joined: Jun 15, 2005 13:22
Location: Upstate NY
Contact:

SCREEN, SCREENRES and WIDTH -- SOLVED

Postby MystikShadows » Sep 22, 2010 14:15

I have a laptop that has an widescreen on it (1360x768) and that, in normal text mode would give 170x48

SCREEN doesn't give me that resolution. But SCREENRES gives it to me. So My question is, how would it all work together if I did a SCREENRES statement to that Wide Screen mode, and the did a WIDTH 170x48 which isn't a standard height and screen mode, would they be accepted and taken as a normal screen?
Last edited by MystikShadows on Sep 22, 2010 16:11, edited 1 time in total.
rolliebollocks
Posts: 2655
Joined: Aug 28, 2008 10:54
Location: new york

Postby rolliebollocks » Sep 22, 2010 14:23

screenres screen_x, screen_y, 32
Width screen_x\8, screen_y\16

<EDIT>

Screenmodes are supported or not supported by individual monitors (if that's what you mean). Some monitors only have full screen settings for certain dimensions.
Oz
Posts: 585
Joined: Jul 02, 2005 14:21
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: SCREEN, SCREENRES and WIDTH

Postby Oz » Sep 22, 2010 15:11

MystikShadows wrote:I have a laptop that has an widescreen on it (1360x768) and that, in normal text mode would give 170x48

SCREEN doesn't give me that resolution. But SCREENRES gives it to me. So My question is, how would it all work together if I did a SCREENRES statement to that Wide Screen mode, and the did a WIDTH 170x48 which isn't a standard height and screen mode, would they be accepted and taken as a normal screen?


ScreenRes will accept any resolution, and you can fullscreen it, or do whatever you want with it.

The original Screen statement was for vga video adapters, and the screen modes were part of that system. I think FreeBASIC emulates the old screen modes.


Code: Select all

screenres 1360, 768, 16, , fb.GFX_FULLSCREEN
width 170, 48

? "Does this work?"

sleep

I ran that code on my 16:10 widescreen monitor, and it looked great. It took my screen a few seconds to set the video mode, so if it's just a black screen for a few seconds, just wait.

Take care,
-Oz
MystikShadows
Posts: 606
Joined: Jun 15, 2005 13:22
Location: Upstate NY
Contact:

Postby MystikShadows » Sep 22, 2010 16:11

Thank you everyone :)....that answered my question :)
rolliebollocks
Posts: 2655
Joined: Aug 28, 2008 10:54
Location: new york

Postby rolliebollocks » Sep 22, 2010 16:23

@Oz

That didn't work for me, as far as getting to fullscreen, it tries, and then fails, and craps me back to windowed mode. It's a hardware thing.
Oz
Posts: 585
Joined: Jul 02, 2005 14:21
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Oz » Sep 22, 2010 16:24

rolliebollocks wrote:@Oz

That didn't work for me, as far as getting to fullscreen, it tries, and then fails, and craps me back to windowed mode. It's a hardware thing.


Duely noted, thanks Rolliebollocks.

-Oz

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: grindstone and 1 guest