DIR is driving me nuts.

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
PhiltheBear

DIR is driving me nuts.

Post by PhiltheBear »

Can someone please help me with the DIR function?

Firstly, let me explain - I have about 50 years experience with BASIC (I used the very first BASIC developed by Kemeny and Kurtz) and I have whole suites of programs developed using FreeBasic using FBIde, all of which have worked perfectly. However, once again I come up against a problem which appears to be compounded by some fairly silly documentation. I refer to the DIR command.

To the best of my understanding (and remembering from years ago) if I use DIR once, defining the directory I wish to search by passing the appropriate directory name and an attribute I should get returned to me the first file name. Next time I call without any name or attribute and i should get the next file name (repeat as required until the filename comes up blank). However, the documentation on this is unclear, largely because somebody decided to put the example in a SUB structure. Why? I want to know about the simple use of DIR, not how clever you are with SUB. Be that as it may, I copied, precisely, the example given to try out. Unsurprisingly it doesn't work.

Here it is:
#include "dir.bi" 'provides constants to use for the attrib_mask parameter

Sub list_files (ByRef filespec As String, ByVal attrib As Integer)
Dim As String filename = Dir(filespec, attrib) ' Start a file search with the specified filespec/attrib *AND* get the first filename.
Do While Len(filename) > 0 ' If len(filename) is 0, exit the loop: no more filenames are left to be read.
Print filename
filename = Dir() ' Search for (and get) the next item matching the initially specified filespec/attrib.
Loop
End Sub

Print "directories:"
list_files "*", fbDirectory

Print
Print "archive files:"
list_files "*", fbArchive

I have "dir.bi" in the same directory as fbc.exe

The error I get is: