Using string function [SOLVED]

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
Trinity

Using string function [SOLVED]

Post by Trinity »

Hi ,
Sorry , I am completely new to FreeBASIC and all it's defining , declaring of this and that and so on, and it also seem as if I am having problems interpreting what is written in the manual itself , so I am asking for help (will most likely be back for help many times here before I understand FreeBASIC) .

As entry point I am trying to understand most basics like declaring variables, arrays and so on and using screen and i/O and for that I want to use among other strings and subs so I can call on stuff rather than having to rewrite stuff .

In the FBWiki it say on page : KeyPgStringFunction : https://www.freebasic.net/wiki/wikka.ph ... ngFunction
declare function String ( byval count as integer, byref ch as const string ) as string
So I have tried to adapt that code and put it into a sub program like this :

Code: Select all

sub subexample
Declare Function mystring1 ( ByVal count As Integer, ByRef charstring As Const String ) As String
charstring="H"
count=5
print mystring1(count,charstring)
end sub 

But all I can get from compiler are these errors :
error 60: Illegal inside functions, found 'Declare' in 'Declare Function mystring1 ( ByVal count As Integer, ByRef charstring As Const String ) As String'
error 41: Variable not declared, charstring in 'charstring="H"'
error 41: Variable not declared, count in 'count=5'
error 41: Variable not declared, mystring1 in 'print mystring1(count,charstring)'

I also consulted : FBWiki : KeyPgDeclare : https://www.freebasic.net/wiki/wikka.ph ... yPgDeclare
which says :
Declare Function name [ param_list ] [ Byref ] As return_type
Declare Function sum( As Integer, As Integer ) As Integer

which to me only show to support that ccde is OK

So I honestly do not understand all this since I copied from FBWiki and have tried my best to adapt .