How do I run Freebasic?

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
Oldned

How do I run Freebasic?

Post by Oldned »

I have downloaded freebasic for windows. When I click on the icon I get
what looks like DOS. What do I do next? Where do I enter source code?
I am a very raw beginner and know nothing about DOS.
St_W

Post by St_W »

You have to run the FreeBasicCompiler just to build an executable file from your source code.

You type your source code in a normal text-file with the specific file-extension ".bas". You could use every text-editor to write the code, but I suggest using an IDE like FBedit or FBide.

If you use a normal text-editor you have to open command-prompt (cmd.exe on Win NT (2k, XP, Vista, 7, ...); command.com on Win9x (95, 98, Me)) and run the FreeBasic Compiler with the source-code file as Parameter.
If you've installed FreeBasic with the Installer you've a shortcut to command-prompt on your Desktop and in your Start-menu.

Run the command-prompt, change to the FreeBasic Compiler Directory (if you don't use the Shortcut created by FreeBasic Installer) and type

Code: Select all

fbc "myProg.bas"
if your source-code is located in the file "myProg.bas".

Type "fbc" (without quotes) to get a list and a short description of the different options that are possible (for example to create a GUI application, use QuickBasic compatibility mode, ...).

As mentioned above I'd suggest using an IDE (Integrated Development Environment) that runs the Compiler for you so that you don't have to open command-prompt (console window).

FBedit is a great IDE. Get it at http://radasm.cherrytree.at/fbedit/

Using FBedit you've to enter your Path to the FreeBasicCompiler (fbc.exe) just once and you can easily compile your files with a simple click on the compile-button.
counting_pine
Site Admin

Post by counting_pine »

I'll Sticky this up in Beginners. This can be the definitive answer thread for this question.
MMAN

using FREEBASIC

Post by MMAN »