Questions about Constants

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
Chained to Fate

Questions about Constants

Post by Chained to Fate »

I am building a program framework to put all the peices of my masterpeice in, and I have a question. I want to load a txt file that holds my users preferences, then define the keys for the game based on those preferences. I currently have the keys defined as CONSTants, but if the player changes the keys, I am not able to re-define the key CONSTants.

I have never used #Define before, does it work like CONST? If I set #DEFINE UP_KEY = 75, will it stay as that accross functions and includes, and throw an error if something tries to over-write it? (that is, until I #UNDef?)

Does anyone have any ideas how to do this better?
Merick

Post by Merick »

#define is a pre-processor statement - meaning that it works only when compiling, I.E., if you have

#define seven 7

when you compile, fbc will replace all instances of "seven" with the number 7, which will then be hard-coded into the exe.
sys49152

Re: Questions about Constants

Post by sys49152 »

Chained to Fate wrote:I am building a program framework to put all the peices of my masterpeice in, and I have a question. I want to load a txt file that holds my users preferences, then define the keys for the game based on those preferences. I currently have the keys defined as CONSTants, but if the player changes the keys, I am not able to re-define the key CONSTants.

I have never used #Define before, does it work like CONST? If I set #DEFINE UP_KEY = 75, will it stay as that accross functions and includes, and throw an error if something tries to over-write it? (that is, until I #UNDef?)

Does anyone have any ideas how to do this better?
What you want is VARiables.

cange the line:

CONST UP_KEY=75

to:

VAR UP_KEY=75
Chained to Fate

Post by Chained to Fate »

Ok, so VAR Declares a variable whose type is implied from the initializer expression.

but how is it different to do