issue on com port after updating W10

For issues with communication ports, protocols, etc.
antonio49
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 18, 2016 14:45

issue on com port after updating W10

Postby antonio49 » Oct 18, 2016 15:55

Hi,
help
this is not, probably, a com port communication issue; had and solved someone the same issue?
Some years ago I realized a temperature datalogger by Arduinouno, ds18b20 sensors and a freebasic exe monitor&storage program; this program always worked with all windows editions until W7.
After the last update from W7 to W10, the program doesn't read the Com3 where Arduino transmits.
I try all compatibility W10 instruments and tricks even those appearing in this forum, but without results.
The problem is: the port com3 works well, in fact the Arduino monitor, (therefore an internal computer program), read very well
on com3 the Arduinouno data but when the same operation is tried by freebasic program the com3 appears blind: no data from the com.

The issue appeared on my computer (Hp Pavillion dv6) only after the last updating to W10 instead on the other computer, Lenovo ideapad 100s
that is a native W10, the freebasic program never worked.
The strange fact is: why W10 clamps the data only toward my freebasic.exe program?
Antonio
MrSwiss
Posts: 2024
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: issue on com port after updating W10

Postby MrSwiss » Oct 29, 2016 11:03

Hi,
have you checked that the latest FTDI-Drivers are installed & working properly?
(no yellow exclamation sign in Dev. Mgr.)
Latest Version (as of: 2016-10-29) are: 2.12.24 (WIN32/WIN64) for WIN10.
You can get them here ...

The Baud Rate (of the virtual COM-Port, in Device Manager) may be set far higher,
than the Baud Rate in the ARDUINO-Sketch however, ARDU-Settings MUST be used
by the FreeBASIC Program, to communicate successfully. All set to "COM3":
    Device Manager Baud = 115200, 8, N, 1
    ARDUINO Sketch Baud = 19200, 8, N, 1
    then
    FreeBASIC Program MUST also use: 19200, 8, N, 1
antonio49
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 18, 2016 14:45

Re: issue on com port after updating W10

Postby antonio49 » Oct 31, 2016 3:11

Hi MrSwiss,
I am sorry, the updating of the drivers had no effect even if
the drivers works properly.
On other hand Arduino works well and also his internal driver, the problem is in some way
the w10 updating after which the freebasic program stopped to work.
MrSwiss
Posts: 2024
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: issue on com port after updating W10

Postby MrSwiss » Oct 31, 2016 10:00

Hi antonio49,

just for a quick test, use FB-Terminal.bas (it's Port settings can be adjusted, before connecting!).
Get it here at topic: "FreeBASIC and Arduino ..."
This is my second test of FB-Prog. running correctly with an Arduino (after a first test, with
Serial-Monitor found in Arduino-IDE). (maybe get the current version first)

You might have to update FBC (current is 1.05.0, since Jan. 2016) and also to maybe re-code
your 'objecting' FB-Prog. (don't know what it contains)

It runs without problems on my WIN10 x64 pro (Build: 10.0.14393). FBC for WIN64 standalone.
antonio49
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 18, 2016 14:45

Re: issue on com port after updating W10

Postby antonio49 » Nov 01, 2016 15:03

hi mrSwiss,
the answer to fb-terminal is "error opening com3" on other hand that was the result I wait for.
My Arduino is old, (rev. 1 or perhaps rev.0 ?), I realize the datalogger in 2011; it may be that
the match of new Arduino with W10 ubser forgot the old release.
Anyway I have an Arduino rev3 and I am almost sure it will work.
Now I use an XP system old computer dedicated to datalogger.
I appreciated your informations very much, many thanks.
Antonio
MrSwiss
Posts: 2024
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: issue on com port after updating W10

Postby MrSwiss » Nov 01, 2016 19:04

Hi antonio49,

there where some issues, with WIN 10 and FBC, but they're solved now.
If you still have the FB-source, just recompile it with current FBC 1.05.0.
This should solve all WIN 10 troubles.
I think it's never been a serial problem. Therefore, the old Arduino HW
is probably not a problem at all.
the answer to fb-terminal is "error opening com3" on other hand that was the result I wait for.
This depends of course also on the Arduino-Sketch ... (I've forgotten!)

Return to “Hardware Interfaces / Communication”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests