FTDI FT232 serial port

For issues with communication ports, protocols, etc.
jona
Posts: 35
Joined: Aug 28, 2014 6:44
Location: Puerto Princesa, Palawan, Philippines

FTDI FT232 serial port

Postby jona » May 22, 2015 3:04

I made a Prolific PL2303 device work fine. I'm collecting the voltage on a charging capacity using ADC0820 attached to ATMEL AT89S52, then transmitting the collected data (about 20kb) to my pc. As a beginner, my projects revolve around "let's see if I can make this work, what's the worst that can happen?"

Substituting FTDI FT232RL doesn't work. I first check device manager (Windows 7) to set the properties identical to the PL2303, except the Port used. Then change the BASIC program to reflect the new port number. I used the instructions at
http://www.usb-drivers.org/ft232r-usb-uart-driver.html
to set up the driver, and Device Manager says "The device is working properly."

#lang "fb"
dim as string filechar,ETX,ENQ,ACK
dim as integer e,i
ETX = chr$(3)
ENQ = chr$(5)
ACK = chr$(6)
open "ADC0820-err.txt" for output as #3
OPEN com "com4:2400,N,8,1,cs0,cd0,ds0,rs" AS #2 LEN = 1024
e=err
print "error A is ";e
print #3, "error A is ";e
FileChar = input$(1,#2)
e=err
print "error B is ";e
print #3, "error B is ";e
print "FileChar is ";FileChar;" asc(FileChar) is ";asc(FileChar)
print #3, "FileChar is ";FileChar;" asc(FileChar) is ";asc(FileChar)
print "success"
print #3, "success"
print #2, ACK
e=err
print "error C is ";e
print #3, "error C is ";e
sleep
close
end

and here's the output
error A is 2 [error 2 is File not found signal]
error B is 0
FileChar is asc(FileChar) is 0
success
error C is 1

Anyone have luck with FTDI FT232RL?
DamageX
Posts: 126
Joined: Nov 21, 2009 8:42

Re: FTDI FT232 serial port

Postby DamageX » May 31, 2015 6:26

Did you check whether it works in a terminal program? I've had issues getting FTDI stuff to work on some systems.
jona
Posts: 35
Joined: Aug 28, 2014 6:44
Location: Puerto Princesa, Palawan, Philippines

Re: FTDI FT232 serial port

Postby jona » May 31, 2015 8:32

Is there a quick and easy terminal test? Winrm , TeraTerm and Putty look kinda involved. I have Win7 X64 on my laptop. My Prolific device works great, and the FTDI was to be a backup.
Dinosaur
Posts: 1362
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay
Contact:

Re: FTDI FT232 serial port

Postby Dinosaur » May 31, 2015 15:50

Hi All

I use the prolific adapter with Industrial modules, and simply plugging it in is all I did.
The driver was loaded and it worked first up.

After reading the instructions on FTDI, you have convinced me to leave it alone.

Regards
jona
Posts: 35
Joined: Aug 28, 2014 6:44
Location: Puerto Princesa, Palawan, Philippines

Re: FTDI FT232 serial port

Postby jona » May 31, 2015 21:32

Dinosaur wrote:After reading the instructions on FTDI, you have convinced me to leave it alone.


That's all I need to know, I'm convinced too. Thanks, Jon
jmg
Posts: 89
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 3:42

Re: FTDI FT232 serial port

Postby jmg » Jul 10, 2015 21:28

When facing problems like this, it can help to try a Terminal, or even a plain DOS command

I do not have a FT232RL but I do have a FT231X, and this DOS command pair

Code: Select all

MODE COM9:2400,N,8,1 
copy /b ShortFile.TXT \\.\COM9:


( The \\.\COMnn allows the command to work to COM57 etc)

gives this

Code: Select all

Status for device COM9:
-----------------------
    Baud:            2400
    Parity:          None
    Data Bits:       8
    Stop Bits:       1
    Timeout:         OFF
    XON/XOFF:        OFF
    CTS handshaking: OFF
    DSR handshaking: OFF
    DSR sensitivity: OFF
    DTR circuit:     ON
    RTS circuit:     ON

        1 file(s) copied.
jona
Posts: 35
Joined: Aug 28, 2014 6:44
Location: Puerto Princesa, Palawan, Philippines

Re: FTDI FT232 serial port

Postby jona » Jul 10, 2015 23:28

I first tried it with my Prolific device, which operates fine and Device Manager recognizes as COM3, got the results you predicted. I changed the command to "MODE COM3:2400,N,8,1", and didn't enter the second command - the result followed my command in the CMD window. Device Manager recognizes the FT232 device as COM4, and when I issue the command "MODE COM4:2400,N,8,1" I get "Device COM4 is not currently available." So, even though Device Manager recognizes it, there could be something else preventing it from working?
jmg
Posts: 89
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 3:42

Re: FTDI FT232 serial port

Postby jmg » Jul 11, 2015 2:36

If I open COM9 (FT231X) in a separate Terminal, and then run the batch, I get this from .BAT

Device COM9 is not currently available.
"\\.\COM9:" is not a recognized device.
Access is denied.


When I disconnect Terminal from COM9, BAT works again.

So that message means Windows thinks something else has that port open.
Try reboot and another PC ? (the COMn will likely change, as you change PCs)

Return to “Hardware Interfaces / Communication”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests