FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

General discussion for topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
Post Reply
srvaldez
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by srvaldez »

hello deltarho[1859]
everything works as far I tested fbc-64-win-gcc-8.3
let me know if it works for you.
Last edited by srvaldez on Jun 05, 2019 23:57, edited 1 time in total.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by deltarho[1859] »

Wow, thanks srvaldez.

I am trying to incorporarte into WinFBE and am getting this.

Code: Select all

gcc.exe: error: CreateProcess: No such file or directory
compiling C failed: 'F:\WinFBE_Suite\FreeBASIC-1.06.0\bin\win64\gcc.exe' terminated with exit code 1
I have used quite a few of ST_W builds without issue.

I have seen "CreateProcess: No such file or directory" before but I cannot remember how I got past it.

I have readme.txt files in some folders to remind me where some files should go.

I will scrap what I have done and start again. <smile>
srvaldez
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by srvaldez »

you need to keep the directory structure, the relative paths are hardcoded.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by deltarho[1859] »

In which case I need to edit the 64-bit stand-alone but you are using

Code: Select all

bin
  lib
  win64 
and the stand-alone uses

Code: Select all

bin
  libexec
  win64
srvaldez
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by srvaldez »

the reason for using

Code: Select all

bin
  lib
  win64
is because that's the way they are in the gcc-toolchain that I used.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by deltarho[1859] »

OK

I have just downloaded ST_W's latest Win64 build and that also uses

Code: Select all

bin
  libexec
  win64
and so does WinFBE.

So, you have a working 8.3 that no one else can use. It is not your fault but it is one of the issues jj2007 has with FreeBASIC.
srvaldez
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by srvaldez »

you could probably blend it like this

Code: Select all

bin
  lib
  libexec
  win64
my version would use lib while yours would use libexec.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by deltarho[1859] »

On the face of it that looks like it may work, but I am now getting

Code: Select all

---------------------------
cc1.exe - System Error
---------------------------
The code execution cannot proceed because zlib1.dll was not found. Reinstalling the program may fix this problem.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
which does not make sense because zlib1.dll is in bin\win32!

Are you sure that fbc-64-win-gcc-8.3 is using the 64-bit cc1.exe?
srvaldez
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by srvaldez »

my apologies, one of the applications installed on my system must have placed zlib1.dll on the search path, here's the zlib1.dll, should be placed where cc1.exe is.
deltarho[1859] wrote:
Are you sure that fbc-64-win-gcc-8.3 is using the 64-bit cc1.exe?
yes
srvaldez
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by srvaldez »

hello deltarho[1859]
I built FB with gcc-9.1, both 32 and 64-bit standalone versions, and copied them to the WinFBE FB distribution, all seems to work ok, tested on a clean VM to make sure that there were no missing dll's.
the reason that before I had undefined symbols, was because of the presence of libmsvcrt.dll.a, kernel32.dll.a and user32.dll.a, I deleted them and left only the static versions.
if you are interested, https://github.com/srvaldez/FreeBASIC-p ... -1.06.0.7z
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by deltarho[1859] »

srvaldez wrote:if you are interested
Yes, I am. However, I am more interested in a reliable gcc 8.*. WinFBE, out of the box, works most of the time but, occasionally, it does not. I think that using gcc 8.1 was a bad move although gcc 7.3 also has the occasional issue. What surprises me is that no other WinFBE user has reported any issues. Having said that I have four versions of Encrypternet.exe: fbc 1.06 gcc 5.2 32/64-bit and fbc 1.06 gcc 8.1 32/64-bit all of which have been given a thorough 'workout' leaving me spoilt for choice.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by deltarho[1859] »

@srvaldez

I had a tidy up and ended up deleting the opening post's download but you have removed the link. Is that download still available? More to the point did you do 32/64 as you did with gcc 9.1.
srvaldez
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by srvaldez »

@deltarho[1859]
I was unable to find a 32-bit version of the gcc-toolchain, so it's 64-bit only, fbc-64-win-gcc-8.3
I will leave the link up until you have downloaded it.
I may try the 8.2 nuwen distribution https://nuwen.net/mingw.html, not sure it will work with the msys2 shell environment, will have to see.
let me know when you have downloaded, so I can remove the link.
Last edited by srvaldez on Jun 15, 2019 17:08, edited 2 times in total.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4308
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FBwin64-gcc-8.3 for deltarho[1859]

Post by deltarho[1859] »

@srvaldez

Downloaded - thank you.
I was unable to find a 32-bit version of the gcc-toolchain,
PITA is it not? <smile>

7.4 may be equally tiresome.

Check out your 9.1 thread for breaking news.
Post Reply