What IDE are you using?

For other topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
BasicScience
Posts: 475
Joined: Apr 18, 2008 4:09
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

What IDE are you using?

Postby BasicScience » Jun 02, 2019 3:32

I have used FBIde for > 10 years and love(d) it.

Suddenly I can't launch the application because of an error message on Win10 64-bit "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142)". It had been about 2 months since I launched FBIde, so it could be difficult to determine whether the incompatibility is from a Win10 update or a security patch at the university.

Seeking an IDE that:
* Is "lightweight" - no bells and whistles to add code for Win API
* Easy to navigate
- set path for user-defined INC files
- modify compiler cmd line to specify resource file for program icon
- unencumbered with fancy "project" windows and navigation (a nuisance)
fxm
Posts: 9310
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: What IDE are you using?

Postby fxm » Jun 02, 2019 5:08

See:
viewtopic.php?p=253773#p253773
and the following posts.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 2102
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: What IDE are you using?

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jun 02, 2019 6:33

I don't use FBIde but have it on board without issue with Win10 Pro 64-bit and the 2005 version of mingwm10.dll.

Google 0xc0000142, there are quite a few 'solutions'.

I use WinFBE, by the way, which is full fat milk and not skimmed milk so you'll not like it, BasicScience.
fxm
Posts: 9310
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: What IDE are you using?

Postby fxm » Jun 02, 2019 7:34

You can also try to set an exclusion for the FBIde directory in your antivirus and, if it works, try to reduce the exclusion to some file(s) only.
BasicScience
Posts: 475
Joined: Apr 18, 2008 4:09
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: What IDE are you using?

Postby BasicScience » Jun 02, 2019 16:02

Thanks for the suggestions. I did a clean boot (disabled all MS Services and all applications in the Start-up), and now FBIde is working again. I have enabled all the MS Services and FBIde still works, so it must be a conflict with some application in the start-up. There are lots of possibilities (Sophos, Clearapass OnGuard, etc.)
fxm
Posts: 9310
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: What IDE are you using?

Postby fxm » Jun 02, 2019 16:21

When I went from time to time this type of defect (especially in Win7), I just had to close and reopen a Windows session or at worst reboot for FBIde to start well.

Return to “Community Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest