about WinFBE

For other topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
srvaldez
Posts: 1941
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

about WinFBE

Postby srvaldez » Jul 19, 2018 0:20

hi all
Paul Squires has done an amazing job on the IDE which now has a working visual designer though still in the early stages.
the IDE + Designer work a lot like VB so it's very easy to design a working GUI, so I hope some of you will give it a try and hopefully help Paul by finding any bugs.
first, download the suite from https://github.com/PaulSquires/WinFBE/releases
second, download the bug-fixed WinFBE32 from http://www.planetsquires.com/protect/fo ... 7#msg31847 and replace it.

for first timers here's a tiny first steps in designing your first GUI
launch WinFBE32, from project menu select new project
once that's done, on top-right select the build type, select Win32 GUI (Release)
from the designer menu select New Form (which creates Untitled1.bas)
right-click on Untitled1.bas and Save As MyFirstGui.bas
right-click on MyFirstGui.bas and set it from Normal File to Main File
now from the ToolBox select TextBox and draw a TextBox on the form
do the same for a button, with button selected on the form click on the Properties tab on the ToolBox
change the Text from Button1 to OK
click on the events tab and check Click
now on the bottom of the form you have two tabs, Design and Code, click on the Code tab to view the generated code
at the bottom you will have the following code

Code: Select all

Function Form1_Button1_Click( ByRef sender As wfxButton, ByRef e As EventArgs) As LRESULT
   Function = 0
End Function

change it to

Code: Select all

Function Form1_Button1_Click( ByRef sender As wfxButton, ByRef e As EventArgs) As LRESULT
   Form1.TextBox1.Text = "Hello World"
   Function = 0
End Function

compile and run, click on the OK button
Last edited by srvaldez on Jul 19, 2018 8:46, edited 1 time in total.
PaulSquires
Posts: 746
Joined: Jul 14, 2005 23:41
Contact:

Re: about WinFBE

Postby PaulSquires » Jul 19, 2018 1:08

Thanks srvaldez, that was very good of you to post about the advancements made with the visual designer in WinFBE. Still lots of work to do but it's getting better and better every day. All help is appreciated with testing and suggestions for changes, additions, etc.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 1765
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: about WinFBE

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jul 19, 2018 5:30

Getting into GUI will probably mean using a few more Windows APIs.

With Options>Environment Options...>FreeBASIC Keywords we have a database of 575 entries. The following link unzips to DRkeywords.txt which has a database of 2160 entries with the default and includes a fair number of Windows APIs. Needless to say the Crypto APIs are included. <smile>

Make a copy of the existing database and save as FBkeywords.txt, or whatever. Always a good idea to backup something before replacing it. Now replace with DRkeywords.

That is it!

DRkeywords.zip
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 1765
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: about WinFBE

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jul 19, 2018 16:19

I won't bore you with how I noticed this but there were some duplicated words in the list. I found an online scanner which removes duplicate words from text files. It took a split second and the entries dropped from 2160 to 2122 so 38 duplicates. Wow! Zip above updated.
PaulSquires
Posts: 746
Joined: Jul 14, 2005 23:41
Contact:

Re: about WinFBE

Postby PaulSquires » Jul 19, 2018 16:46

Thanks David for sharing :)
I am working on WinAPI keyword integration and function codetips.
MrSwiss
Posts: 3079
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: about WinFBE

Postby MrSwiss » Jul 19, 2018 16:54

PaulSquires wrote:All help is appreciated with testing and suggestions for changes, additions, etc.
I'd strongly suggest, to stop pushing FBX-Framework use, in the designer,
because:
there are people, like myself, who don't want to have *any part of it*.
(yet another dependency! WIN-API native, is considered okay ... but not
another, in-between layer).

People comming from PB have a tendency, to totally neglect console-
only programming interests (which might be a reason for that, IMHO li-
mited, point of view).
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 1765
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: about WinFBE

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jul 19, 2018 17:24

PaulSquires wrote:I am working on WinAPI keyword integration and function codetips.

Oh, good. I look forward to my effort having a short life expectancy. <smile>
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 1765
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: about WinFBE

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jul 19, 2018 18:09

I wonder how many people have any interest whatsoever in MrSwiss' humble opinion about other people. I could express an opinion here but it would also be humble so I won't bother. <smile>
MrSwiss
Posts: 3079
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: about WinFBE

Postby MrSwiss » Jul 20, 2018 15:09

<equally boring comment>
At least, I have a opinion. You, obviously not.
Therefore, let other people be their own judges ...
</equally boring comment>
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 1765
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: about WinFBE

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jul 20, 2018 16:59

MrSwiss wrote:You, obviously not.

I am more than happy to express an opinion but I would not waste my time expressing a humble opinion. I write IMO and not IMHO. <smile>
MrSwiss
Posts: 3079
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: about WinFBE

Postby MrSwiss » Jul 20, 2018 17:35

Just words mincing ... <very funny!>
srvaldez
Posts: 1941
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: about WinFBE

Postby srvaldez » Jul 23, 2018 20:42

here's simple RPNcalculator, not quite finished yet, no keyboard input yet.
RPN Tutorial https://hansklav.home.xs4all.nl/rpn/

corrected some bugs and added the ability store values in variables A thru G
to store a value that's on the stack into A, press Quote then A then STO
to put the value stored in A onto the stack press A

added:
a single click on a value on the stack will copy that value to the clipboard
the Copy button or a double-click on the stack will copy all values to the clipboard
the Paste button pastes values in the clipboard to the stack

Image
Last edited by srvaldez on Jul 26, 2018 21:12, edited 4 times in total.
RNBW
Posts: 183
Joined: Apr 11, 2015 11:06
Location: UK

Re: about WinFBE

Postby RNBW » Jul 25, 2018 8:33

for first timers here's a tiny first steps in designing your first GUI
launch WinFBE32,


I note that this refers to WinFBE32. I usually use WinFBE64, but cannot get this file to open since the 1.6.4 version of WinFBE. I am using the latest version of Windows 10 home.

Is there a known problem?

Does the Designer only work properly in WinFBE32?
srvaldez
Posts: 1941
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: about WinFBE

Postby srvaldez » Jul 25, 2018 10:18

I had similar problem, on one of my VM's WinFBE simply would not launch, I temporarily solved it by making a small batch file and place it on my Desktop for easy access
make the batch file containing the full path of WinFBE64, for example

Code: Select all

C:\WinFBE_Suite\WinFBE64.exe

then to launch WinFBE64 double-click on the batch file

the designer works equally well in either version.
RNBW
Posts: 183
Joined: Apr 11, 2015 11:06
Location: UK

Re: about WinFBE

Postby RNBW » Jul 25, 2018 10:34

Thanks. The batch file works well. Just a point though. The "about" menu item says it is version 1.6.5 not 1.6.7. Could possibly have been missed in the updates, or is it actually 1.6.5

Return to “Community Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests