How many people actually use FreeBasic?

General discussion for topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
BasicCoder2

How many people actually use FreeBasic?

Post by BasicCoder2 »

Hi,

I was curious if it is known how many people actually use FreeBasic and to what extent?

As a hobby programmer I have used it 100% since discovering back in 2006 but then I don't actually write professional software. At the time I was using Bloodshed Dev-C++ which I liked very much but found FreeBasic easier to use for the types of programs I was playing with. I had thought of returning to C as it is well supported. I felt like I should learn Python because of its support base but haven't been motivated enough to get very far with that language.
ScriptBasic

Re: How many people actually use FreeBasic?

Post by ScriptBasic »

I used FreeBASIC as a PowerBASIC alternative until 64 bit became the current platform everyone is developing for. The FreeBASIC C emitter was a good step in the right direction but I was hoping for something I could enhance using FreeBASIC to generate a framework. OxygenBasic has since filled my Windows BASIC compiler needs. I'm just getting going with the C BASIC concept and having a lot of fun with it. If you think about it, FreeBASIC is much like C BASIC. It uses a BASIC like syntax to mask the ASM source code generated. C BASIC is just a level up. I think the best use of FreeBASIC developers resources at this time would be to use Charles C header parsing and be rid of .bi files and the maintenance forever. I'm sure that would make FreeBASIC more attractive since PB (and it's author) has died and left a sizable user base without a direction.
badidea

Post by badidea »