Fbide website updated

For other topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
fxm
Posts: 9558
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby fxm » Mar 26, 2012 9:28

Roland Chastain wrote:If you rewrite FB ide, please don't add too much things : keep it simple and solid !

Yes but at least, improve the 'Sub/Function browser' with the constants/variables, namespaces, macros, and member procedures as constructors, destructors, properties, operators.
TESLACOIL
Posts: 1769
Joined: Jun 20, 2010 16:04
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby TESLACOIL » Mar 30, 2012 9:15

>

Free Basic Logo
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:FreeBASICLogo.png

you may wish to use the stock logo for that pro am look and to lend credibility to your work
FreeBASIC branding is loose, but it cant hurt to the stock if you want to improve appearances



IF it is your intention to make large changes to FBide why not call it FBide mark II or FBide 2012
A nod to the old and perhaps more freedom to develop ( do maintain links to old version please )
so as not to confuse people



add a link to the FreeBASIC wikipedia page, you might also want to create a Wikipedia page for FBide and cross link
that would make life much easier for potential new users, i had to hunt around a fair bit before is discovered FBide
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FreeBASIC



I already have a link to the FBide webby on my wiki , NOTE i use an embedded hello world screenshot
the screen shots you have make FBide out to be far more complex than it is, FBide is a simple IDE, dont obfuscate that fact by dazzling the visitor with all the bells and whistles at the top of the first page
http://freebasicportal.wikispaces.com/FBide+Interface



KISS & FAVNAV are key , keep it simple stupid and fast as flock navigation, less clicks is more. Note this post is too long, hard to take in everything ive said in one go....to much text and too many ideas all at once leave the visitor dazzled...its very easy to get carried away with wanting to include everything for fear of leaving it out...bad habits we all have. What is good for creative flow is often less good for the consumer....in your case the visitor to the website








ref architects and bricks comment earlier, lol


yes my wiki is parody of good design , the joke of a spaced out zombified horse logo goes over some people heads lol
though i am slowly tidying it up, if and when i polish it to a high sheene ill swap the zany logo for the stock one
zany logo = WIP


Note : i dont have exacting control over its layout so im forced to use a non optimum look. I used to design websites long ago & interface design is my area of expertise...so if i pull something its for a good reason.

....to take a line out of dark star ' it matters not the source of the information but its validity '

....im happy for people to rip my code, thats how bad code gets made better and how mediocre websites get slicker
fxm
Posts: 9558
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby fxm » Mar 30, 2012 10:48

Roland Chastain wrote:If you rewrite FB ide, please don't add too much things : keep it simple and solid !


To monitor a runtime error, compiling with the option -exx
(I am always using this option)

  • Rustic solution :
    Launch your "program.exe" from a (prompt) command window, in order to display the runtime error message.

  • Using FBIde :
    Referring to viewtopic.php?p=121731#p121731, you can edit the run command menu and enter "cmd /c "<$file>" <$param> & pause", in order that IDE opens a command window, runs the program, and then waits for a keypress before closing.

  • Using FreeQ IDE:
    You get automatically a pause (in the command window) after compiling + running with option "-exx", and also you can just select a check-box "Pause after execution" to pause after compile + run (without "-exx")

You could perhaps take inspiration from this simpler solution for the user that has been implemented in FreeQ IDE by JohnK at my request:
viewtopic.php?p=155992#p155992
konaexpress
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 11, 2012 17:40

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby konaexpress » Apr 11, 2012 18:14

Hay, thanks for making FBide.

As a newbie, could I ask for a snippets window so that I could drag and drop/cut and paste code to help speed things up for me and to also see how others have coded the same thing. Like buttons, scroll bars, drop boxes and more advanced things like adding drag and drop.

Thanks for the IDE+ FB bundle. That was great, I was looking for a good BASIC ide to load on my netbook to goof with.

-John
integer
Posts: 388
Joined: Feb 01, 2007 16:54
Location: usa

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby integer » May 06, 2012 6:36

Many thanks for FBIDE

When I access the site: http://fbide.freebasic.net/

The screen has about two inch border on the left
of your screen information
and about 4 or more inch border on the right side of the screen.

My browser (IE8) does not show the important left most dozen (approx) pixels of your page.

This is the only page with which I have a problem. Have you any idea as to what changes I need to make.


NEVERMIND
I changed to mozilla FireFox. Problem solved.
I am able to view the entire display.
fxm
Posts: 9558
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby fxm » May 06, 2012 8:03

integer wrote:Many thanks for FBIDE

When I access the site: http://fbide.freebasic.net/

The screen has about two inch border on the left
of your screen information
and about 4 or more inch border on the right side of the screen.

My browser (IE8) does not show the important left most dozen (approx) pixels of your page.

This is the only page with which I have a problem. Have you any idea as to what changes I need to make.


NEVERMIND
I changed to mozilla FireFox. Problem solved.
I am able to view the entire display.

Yes, same behavior with Microsoft Internet Explorer Version: 6.0.2900.5512.xpsp_sp3_gdr.111025-1629.

Works with FireFox version 2.0.0.20.
VonGodric
Posts: 997
Joined: May 27, 2005 9:06
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby VonGodric » May 06, 2012 12:29

Bizarre. Mind posting a screenshot? I'm on mac. no IE here
fxm
Posts: 9558
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby fxm » May 06, 2012 12:57

VonGodric wrote:Bizarre. Mind posting a screenshot? I'm on mac. no IE here

A left zoom to well see the problem on IE (old version: 6.0.2900.5512.xpsp_sp3_gdr.111025-1629)

Image
Image
Image
VonGodric
Posts: 997
Joined: May 27, 2005 9:06
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby VonGodric » May 06, 2012 15:14

strange. Don't really care about IE6, but I'll see what I can do about IE8
TESLACOIL
Posts: 1769
Joined: Jun 20, 2010 16:04
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby TESLACOIL » May 21, 2012 9:11

@ VonGodric im interested in updating the .chm help files for FBide

as in more + better code examples etc etc


i can provide code samples , descriptions , images etc but im unfamiliar with creating .chm files
VonGodric
Posts: 997
Joined: May 27, 2005 9:06
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby VonGodric » May 31, 2012 22:17

TESLACOIL - any contribution is welcome, but please do contribute to the official documentation and the CHM. I will be happy to include the updated version.
TESLACOIL
Posts: 1769
Joined: Jun 20, 2010 16:04
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby TESLACOIL » Jun 03, 2012 22:52

I did a Logo for FBide , feel free to use it
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=19927

additional graphics
http://asimov1.wikispaces.com/Graphics



The German Wikipedia on Freebasic mentions FBide and has a screen shot , the English Wikipedia would benefit to
http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/FreeBASIC#FBIde



It would be a very good idea to create a dedicated Wikipedia page for FBide. It is after all the #1 IDE for freebasic and it will help put Freebasic & FBide on the map ( anyone can add to or edit wikipedia, that's the whole point )


also note that there is an article on freebasic in a dozen languadges, only a couple of those mention or have links to FBide webby http://pt.wikipedia.org/wiki/FreeBASIC

wikipedia comes up in the top 10 of most searches so its a very good idea to have key links on wikipedia




on each of the language pages ( see list on the left margin of the Wikipedia page ) ive added an IDE section to the french Freebasic wikipedia page http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/FreeBasic, and placed a link to the FBide website


what you add to wikipedia


== IDE ==
* {{en}} [http://fbide.freebasic.net/ FBide ]


you need to do this for every language page you see
Gonzo
Posts: 722
Joined: Dec 11, 2005 22:46

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby Gonzo » Jun 04, 2012 0:00

probably not the right thread for it, but fbide is severely lacking project features... which is kind of what an ide is supposed to handle :S
open project, open folder, close project etc.
i couldnt compile my project either.. do i need to set up a huge commandline? its expected this is done for me

otherwise it is looking great, except for the icon
you can put any image you want as icon, just so you know :)
it doesnt have to be the annoying .ico format

however, free web-based icon editor:
http://www.xiconeditor.com/

Image
TESLACOIL
Posts: 1769
Joined: Jun 20, 2010 16:04
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fbide website updated

Postby TESLACOIL » Jun 04, 2012 0:57

@ Gonzo

FBedit has more bells and whistles , have you tried that ?

FBide is just a simple bare bones IDE , i use it and i love that simplicity but that just me

Return to “Community Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jevans4949 and 4 guests