Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

For other topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
D.J.Peters
Posts: 7419
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby D.J.Peters » Oct 29, 2016 15:27

I was run in to trouble with the networks driver that comes with VirtualBox.

If you google you are not alone with freezing Windows 10 as host of VirtualBox !

Joshy
St_W
Posts: 1350
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby St_W » Oct 30, 2016 4:24

Thank you.

That would be a pity as I need some VBox networking in order for my build setup to work.

I've updated VirtualBox to the latest version (5.1.6->5.1.8) and disabled all the network adapters that I don't need.
Furthermore I've updated Jenkins to the latest version.

So far no freeze, but that doesn't mean anything yet as it didn't freeze up to a week sometimes previously too.
TeeEmCee
Posts: 243
Joined: Jul 22, 2006 0:54
Location: Auckland

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby TeeEmCee » Nov 01, 2016 10:54

Recently I've switched from using a VirtualBox VM to cross-compiling from Linux to Windows using mxe, which is an incredibly simple to set up toolchain. FB's cross-compiling support is excellent (aside from a few bugs); I have 6 FB targets installed so far :)
(Also cross compiling is 10x faster than trying to compile stuff in a Win XP VM, because Win XP has such terrible support for multiple cores that they only slow it down.)
I could also contribute OSX FB nightly builds from my mac at uni, but I'm only going to have access to it for another half a year. Instead, I'm going to try out setting up a cross-compiler for OSX too: https://github.com/tpoechtrager/osxcross
St_W
Posts: 1350
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby St_W » Nov 02, 2016 8:51

My machine is based on Windows 10 and I doubt that there are cross-compilation toolchains available for all the current targets, so I fear that's no option for my setup. I'm already using cross-compilation for ARM-based targets inside a x86_64 Linux VM.

Regarding OSX builds: I'd be interested to provide those too as soon as fbc's master branch supports OSX without additional patches. I've no physical Mac available and my OSX VMs are quite heavyweight so I'm really interested in your results of using a cross-compilation toolchain to compile fbc for OSX.

What is the current state of OSX support in the master branch?
Could you document how to set up / configure such a cross-compilation environment for different targets (especially OSX)?
TeeEmCee
Posts: 243
Joined: Jul 22, 2006 0:54
Location: Auckland

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby TeeEmCee » Nov 02, 2016 15:51

Sure, if you want to provide OSX builds that's easier than me doing so!

The state of the OSX support on master is that it probably works for many commandline FB programs. fbgfx2 only works with ENABLE_XQUARTZ=1. fbc can't compile programs out of the box without extra command line options (-gen gcc -asm att), only works for gcc 4.6+ (probably not a problem for most people), is missing some rtlib functions like multikey, fbctinfo support, crt headers, and probably many undiscovered bugs; I suspect I'm the only person to ever seriously use it for anything, and encountered all of the above and more when I attempted to.

I've tried setting up osxcross, and it's been uphill, it turns out it doesn't support the very old XCode versions I initially tried to use. I need to put it down for a while, but am documenting the steps for setting everything up. I previously wrote instructions for cross compiling from GNU/Linux to Win32 and Android here: http://rpg.hamsterrepublic.com/ohrrpgce/Cross-compiling and http://rpg.hamsterrepublic.com/ohrrpgce ... e_programs
St_W
Posts: 1350
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby St_W » Feb 02, 2017 14:34

I've temporarily fixed an issue with the DOS build environment that kept undetected during the last months since there was no build (JNLP4; see https://jenkins.io/doc/upgrade-guide/2.32/). I'll probably have to update the plugin when the compatibility mechanism is removed at some point in time.

Additionally I've added libmsimg32.dll.a, libversion.dll.a and libimm32.dll.a to the Windows build packages since they are required by a testcase and will increase the package size of the ZIP only by about 10 kBytes (unzipped: about 130 kB).
//edit:there was a small problem with the new settings; should be fixed now
Last edited by St_W on Feb 04, 2017 20:38, edited 1 time in total.
D.J.Peters
Posts: 7419
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby D.J.Peters » Feb 03, 2017 2:09

@St_W how do you solved the Windows 10 freezing problem do you located the soure of trouble ?

Was it the VM software or hardware ?
(or fixed by win 10 OS updates)

Joshy
St_W
Posts: 1350
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby St_W » Feb 03, 2017 8:43

Unfortunately I didn't write down all the changes I tried and can't tell exactly which of these changes fixed it. I believe that it was caused by some power-saving feature of Windows. Currently I've disabled all power-saving features and it didn't hang a single time in the last months (there were nearly no FB commits and thus no builds in the last months, however).

Maybe I'll try to enable the power-saving features again one-by-one to identify the critical one, but that is very time-consuming as the issue often occurs only after a week or two. And the machine isn't located at home and I can't reset the PC remotely when it hangs so that means I would have to go to the PC quite often.

btw no news about OSX builds, if anybody was asking him/herself.
St_W
Posts: 1350
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby St_W » Aug 20, 2017 19:14

D.J.Peters wrote:Was it the VM software or hardware ?
(or fixed by win 10 OS updates)

Unfortunately the freezes seem to occur again after the update to the latest Windows 10 version 1703 (Creators Update) despite the power-saving settings :-(

(and there also has also been a power outage a few days ago due to a storm)

So the availability won't be very good in the next weeks until I've fixed it or have found a workaround.
I'll look for driver/firmware upgrades as described here: https://appuals.com/windows-10-creators ... d-freezes/
St_W
Posts: 1350
Joined: Feb 11, 2009 14:24
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby St_W » Aug 24, 2017 20:18

I've reverted to the previous Windows 10 version so the freezes should be fixed at least temporarily. Additionally I've updated the BIOS firmware.

------

Another problem has occured with the documentation build: the switch to HTTPS seems to have broken the wiki build system. Until that is fixed no new documentation builds will be generated on my build server. The application should be fixed (instead of reverting the change on the server).

The documentation build tools are located here in case anybody wants to fix them: https://github.com/freebasic/fbc/tree/master/doc
If you're building on Windows here's a precompiled set of the required libraries: http://users.freebasic-portal.de/stw/fi ... s/fbdoc.7z n (90 MB, includes sources)

//edit: changing the URL in the configuration to use https already fixed the problem; so documentation builds should be working again.
coderJeff
Site Admin
Posts: 2680
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 14:23
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby coderJeff » Oct 22, 2017 0:03

St_W wrote://edit: changing the URL in the configuration to use https already fixed the problem; so documentation builds should be working again.


Could you please check build of http://users.freebasic-portal.de/stw/bu ... manual.chm ?
I downloaded it, but all pages just show blank. What do you have in your doc/manual/cache dir (or where ever you build the manual) ?

---

I started on some updates to fbdoc tools today but they are not working well with https://www.freebasic.net/wiki
Found two issues so far:
1) Certificate validation problem, fbdoc & friends silently fail and blank page is returned, after fixing this problem by adding option for custom certificate file,
2) get response 500 - Internal Server error - Request Timeout -- the request is received but nothing comes back

Also, in firefox private session, can't connect to https://www.freebasic.net/wiki

Would be helpful if you or anyone can confirm the problems. Thanks.
fxm
Posts: 8283
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris (suburb), FRANCE

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby fxm » Oct 22, 2017 5:29

coderJeff wrote:Could you please check build of http://users.freebasic-portal.de/stw/bu ... manual.chm ?
I downloaded it, but all pages just show blank.

It's right for me.
Have you well unblocked the file in file properties?
coderJeff
Site Admin
Posts: 2680
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 14:23
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby coderJeff » Oct 22, 2017 5:42

I don't remember ever having done that before - thanks, file properties - unblock worked. And that chm seems to have the most recent changes from wiki, so looks like build is working.

Dang it. Then, it's something else with my set-up.
fxm
Posts: 8283
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris (suburb), FRANCE

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby fxm » Oct 22, 2017 5:47

Me, it's the opposite. Before, I always had to unblock the file. Now, it seems that it is no longer obligatory!
coderJeff
Site Admin
Posts: 2680
Joined: Nov 04, 2005 14:23
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Where can I get a Recent-Git-Build of FreeBASIC?

Postby coderJeff » Oct 22, 2017 12:59

A follow-up, for anyone curious: fixed the connection problems - fbdoc & friends all working OK for me. Rebooted my router. Gah! Well, the positive is, I learned a lot yesterday about SSL/TLS curl & communication, more than I knew before. And I also relearned that when troubleshooting, it's always the last thing checked that solves the problem, so I should have started with easiest thing first.

Return to “Community Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: badidea and 1 guest