Sprite engine - how many sprites can YOU handle?

Game development specific discussions.
DaveUnit
Posts: 239
Joined: Apr 20, 2006 15:47
Location: Central MA

Post by DaveUnit »

not too bad for your pc lachie.
that res shouldn't require 1000 sprites so in a real game environment you should be fine.
notthecheatr
Posts: 1759
Joined: May 23, 2007 21:52
Location: Cut Bank, MT
Contact:

Post by notthecheatr »

1024x768, full screen
1000 sprites, all animated
42-43 fps

And my computer really sucks, it's a Celeron M 1.4GHz with 512M of memory and a stupid integrated graphics card.

So I'd say they're pretty good results.

edit:
Same settings, except 2000 sprites all animated, gives me 30-31fps, so 2000 all animated is basically the maximum for me.
Last edited by notthecheatr on Dec 30, 2007 2:30, edited 1 time in total.
1000101
Posts: 2556
Joined: Jun 13, 2005 23:14
Location: SK, Canada

Post by 1000101 »

Settings:
0 - 1024x769
1 - Fullscreen
6500 - Sprites
6500 - Animated

10 - Update Interval
Min: 29
Max: 35
Mean: 30

1 - Update Interval
Min: 29
Max: 30
Mean: 29

Athlon64 X2 4200+ (Dual-core @ 2.2GHz/core, 1GHz HT FSB)
3GB DDR2 PC5400 (1GB DDR2 PC5400 + 2GB DDR2 6400)
16x PCIe 7600GS (256M)
DaveUnit
Posts: 239
Joined: Apr 20, 2006 15:47
Location: Central MA

Post by DaveUnit »

Thanks for doing a few different tests 1000101 and notthecheatr.

It appears that having an update interval is pretty damn unnecessary.
And from other people how many are animated barely changes performance.
The speed of fbgfx is gonna be the bottleneck and as long as I don't make any big screw-ups with my code, a realistic amount of on-screen sprites will result in an acceptable fps, even on Lachie's pc! :P

Now the next step is to add tile maps. Not 100% sure on exactly how I'm going to approach it this time since I'm taking a different approach than my usual way that should result in a cleaner, more memory efficient map.
D.J.Peters
Posts: 8586
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28
Contact:

Post by D.J.Peters »

DaveUnit wrote:Now the next step is to add tile maps.
ISO tile maps?

If so this is the point i wrote "more important are the soft background=ISO map scrolling"

i wish you good luck and a happy new year in peace

Joshy

(again and again sorry about my bad english
Damn why no simple text signature in this forum!)
DaveUnit
Posts: 239
Joined: Apr 20, 2006 15:47
Location: Central MA

Post by DaveUnit »

After like a month of doing nothing I finally sat down and coded some more and have made quite a lot of progress. Maps are almost finished. I just need to add support for sprites that aren't map tiles.
I have posted the link to the new demo in the original post.
The frames are screensync'd to provide smooth scrolling so 60 will be the max fps you can achieve.

If any of you would be so kind as to quickly test the new demo it will be much appreciated. I get a solid 60 frames.

thanks!
phycowelder
Posts: 74
Joined: Dec 19, 2007 6:55

Post by phycowelder »

me to! well 59 frames! on every setting
Z!re

Post by Z!re »

[Content removed at author's request]
DaveUnit
Posts: 239
Joined: Apr 20, 2006 15:47
Location: Central MA

Post by DaveUnit »

I seem to have confused you with my wording, Z!re. haha. I'm no wordsmith.
Animations are time based, I just used a screensync during drawing to prevent tearing when the program is drawing more frames than the refresh rate of the monitor.
Sorry for the confusion.
Lachie Dazdarian
Posts: 2338
Joined: May 31, 2005 9:59
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Post by Lachie Dazdarian »

640*480: 30 FPS
800*600: 20 FPS
Last edited by Lachie Dazdarian on Feb 14, 2008 22:55, edited 1 time in total.
DaveUnit
Posts: 239
Joined: Apr 20, 2006 15:47
Location: Central MA

Post by DaveUnit »

really, Lachie? you sure that's not the other way around?
hmm... I'll need to investigate this when I have the chance.
Lachie Dazdarian
Posts: 2338
Joined: May 31, 2005 9:59
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Post by Lachie Dazdarian »

Ups. My mistake. It was the other way around. :P
DaveUnit
Posts: 239
Joined: Apr 20, 2006 15:47
Location: Central MA

Post by DaveUnit »

well I suppose that's not bad, not great but not bad.
I have a new version post with sprite layers being added to the map now, but at 1024x768 my pc is dropping closer to like 30 frames with 200 sprites added and I don't think it should drop that low.
When I have the time to optimize the drawing sub I'll upload a new version.
Conexion
Posts: 236
Joined: Feb 23, 2006 6:04

Post by Conexion »

1024
windowed and full screen
60 fps with all sprites.

Pentium 4 (x86 family) 2.8 GHz - (Single Core)
2 GB DDR2 Ram

Not that it matters as much...
WinXP SP2 Build 2600
Dell Dimension 4700

... Can't wait until I pay off a car... then it's onto building my own compy, thank God!

edit: tried again on full screen... dunno what's different, but now it's about 48-55ish FPS. Just thought I'd report that!
DaveUnit
Posts: 239
Joined: Apr 20, 2006 15:47
Location: Central MA

Post by DaveUnit »

I've got a new version I'm working on but I've got a seg fault problem in my linked lists of map objects (those little guys on screen) and I can't find the bug for the life of me, 'cuz I know it's not in the linked list itself.
The new version also displays how many sprites are on screen at one time so you can see the difference between screen modes and why 1024x768 would not be resolution of choice should this become a game (which it probably won't.)
Post Reply