Screen 7 and 13 (320x200) on new Nvidia cards

External libraries (GTK, GSL, SDL, Allegro, OpenGL, etc) questions.
Theunis Jansen
Posts: 248
Joined: Jul 01, 2010 9:35

Screen 7 and 13 (320x200) on new Nvidia cards

Postby Theunis Jansen » Jul 15, 2010 13:42

Sorry to be stinker when u are busy.
WINDOWS just bombs out with prog has an error on screen 7. Screen 13 remains a very small Window. This happens with FB and QB4.5 exe's. QB64 works fine but with all the dll's it is about ten to twenty times the size of an FB prog.
Are you perhaps thinking of Fixing this problem for us poor users.
Although Nvidia Gforce FX5500 also only shows minimum 640x480 as the newer cards do the progs run smoothly on it.
Why posted here, well I thought it may be a FBGFX LIB issue.
Imortis
Moderator
Posts: 1734
Joined: Jun 02, 2005 15:10
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Imortis » Jul 16, 2010 18:40

If the video card doen't support the resolution in full screen, then FB's graphics library can not make it support it. What you may wat to look into is some of the Scale2x code floating around on the forum. If you double the side of your 320x200 graphics, that will make them 640x400. You could just offset your y positions by +40 and that would center the windo in a 640x480 full screen window.

I'm sure it was not the answer you were looking for, but it is a valid answer.
Theunis Jansen
Posts: 248
Joined: Jul 01, 2010 9:35

Screen 7 and 13 (320x200) on new Nvidia cards

Postby Theunis Jansen » Jul 17, 2010 10:00

Greetings and Thanks Imortis

I have a large number of progs for kids maths each using from two to six different exercise choices. I wanted to add sound to these QB4.5 progs. i.e Say what was typed ( 0 to 20 or oops for a mistake higher than 20). Lillo's 1998-1999 DBQ.QLB for the Soundblaster doesn't work to well on my CMI 8738. Plays 8 Bit 22KHz - his default for *.wav - very slowly and it is distorted.

I use DRAW Fig$(x) to draw 0 to 9 - outline and then fill with "Px,x). I mix this with standard + - =
Using 640x480 the DRAW and Locate are totally out of alignment so I would have to alter every locate and point statement. The +-= is thus tiny and three new DRAW strings for them would be required (OK easy peasy) I can double the DRAW size from the default "S4" to "S8" so scaling them is not a problem. My FRAME sub will also have to be changed.

I compiled one prog with QB64 and it runs perfectly on the newer Nvidia card, I am lazy and thought that by posting here - apart from the post under Beginners - it would be a WISHLIST for a library change/update.
1000101
Posts: 2556
Joined: Jun 13, 2005 23:14
Location: SK, Canada

Postby 1000101 » Jul 17, 2010 12:50

Just for reference, it's always the best practice to confirm that you can do what you want to do before you do it. In this case, confirm the screen mode exists before you set it. This can be done with the ScreenList function. If the example for that lists the mode you want then you're all set. Otherwise your OS+Hardware+Driver combination simply doesn't allow the mode and there is nothing that can be changed in gfxlib2 to fix that. If QB64 is able to set the low-res modes then it may actually be faking it behind your back.
Theunis Jansen
Posts: 248
Joined: Jul 01, 2010 9:35

Screen 7 and 13 (320x200) on new Nvidia cards

Postby Theunis Jansen » Jul 18, 2010 11:00

Greetings Hero

I was under the impression that the DOS Screen modes were mainly emulated in the fbgfx lib. So isn't that already faking it ?. I did'nt know about the Screen 13 problem and only checked it when I saw a post under Beginners about it.
My QB4.5 progs worked OK on my daughters machine and I have since found a Sound/FLI QuickLibrary by DAVE and will first try that before I try anything else. Joshy's reply under beginners is so far the best to solve the problem! Maybe when compiling I can make it an .OBJ and link it with QB.QLB (Just a thought). I am not yet clued up with FB.
The progs were all working perfect on my nVidia card so there was no need to check anything at that stage, but for future reference I will definitely use your advice.
1000101
Posts: 2556
Joined: Jun 13, 2005 23:14
Location: SK, Canada

Postby 1000101 » Jul 18, 2010 16:42

It's actually emulating the colour modes, not the resolution. gfxlib2 (fbgfx) only operates in three colour modes internally (8/16/32) and abstracts those on the hardware. The hardware still needs to support the resolution desired (320x200, etc). The problem comes because those old low-res modes don't exist on all modern hardware since legacy code (BIOS/Video BIOS/etc) and operating modes (all old video BIOS modes except 80-column text) started being phased out in 2001. See this article for reference.


Edit: Although that article mostly applies to the system BIOS, the same holds true for any deprecated hardware BIOSs.

Return to “Libraries”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests