MiniB3d for FreeBasic

External libraries (GTK, GSL, SDL, Allegro, OpenGL, etc) questions.
theuserbl
Posts: 29
Joined: Dec 01, 2005 13:03

Postby theuserbl » Nov 22, 2010 1:15

Nice work.
But I think it would be better, to give it an other name.

- Simon have called its first implementation written in BlitzMax "MiniB3D"
- The someone other have created a different version of it on http://www.minib3d.com called "MiniB3D Extended" or "minib3dext".
- Later Simon have ported its own version to Objective C for the iPhone and called the port "iMiniB3D"

And now you ported iMiniB3D and parts of MiniB3D to C++ and calling it "MiniB3D" again :-/

Ok, on Sourceforge you call it "minib3d v0.25 for FB", but the address is
http://sourceforge.net/projects/minib3d
and the title is "MiniB3d library".

So this is very confusing, when there existing two projects called "MiniB3D".

Can you not call your port "FBMiniB3D", "MiniB3D4FB", "CPPMiniB3D" or something else?

It is already confusing to read this thread, because of that.
I describe it now in two versions.

Here there stand it like
"MiniB3D is a port of iMiniB3D with some extension. But the code of Terrains is ported from MiniB3D."

But what it mean is like
"Your MiniB3D is a port of iMiniB3D with some extension. But the code of Terrains is ported from Simons MiniB3D."

But really nice work.

Greatings
theuserbl
angros47
Posts: 1466
Joined: Jun 21, 2005 19:04

Postby angros47 » Nov 23, 2010 14:59

Actually, I was thinking about changing the name...

My idea was "openb3d", or maybe "open minib3d": "open" means that the library can be used in a 100% open source system (original minib3d requires blitzmax, that's closed source, and iMiniB3d requires iOs, the most closed os ever)

Any suggestions?
Linux3d
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 24, 2010 4:59

>:P

Postby Linux3d » Nov 24, 2010 5:01

Needs a lot of documentation on it ... can't find much
Linux3d
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 24, 2010 4:59

Postby Linux3d » Nov 24, 2010 5:14

Name... "Opengl4FB" ? or "M3D4FB" ?
antarman
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 12, 2006 9:27
Location: Russia, Ural, Chelyabinsk
Contact:

Postby antarman » Nov 24, 2010 7:22

i think: FB3D or OpenB3D!

p.s. angros47, thank you for your work!!!
angros47
Posts: 1466
Joined: Jun 21, 2005 19:04

Postby angros47 » Nov 26, 2010 8:44

I won't use names with "4FB" or similar: in fact, even if I developed it with FB in mind, the library can also be used in other languages (GFA Basic, RapidQ.... but also C or C++, if you want)

OpenGL4FB cannot be used: in fact, MiniB3D is not a wrapper for openGL, it uses different commands and has different features: also, openGL for FreeBasic already exists, it's a simple .BI file included in FB download.

Maybe I'll use OpenB3D...
Linux3d
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 24, 2010 4:59

Postby Linux3d » Nov 29, 2010 0:55

MORE DOCUMENTATION!!
antarman
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 12, 2006 9:27
Location: Russia, Ural, Chelyabinsk
Contact:

Postby antarman » Dec 07, 2010 7:07

Yes! Use name: "OpenB3D"!
angros47
Posts: 1466
Joined: Jun 21, 2005 19:04

Postby angros47 » Dec 07, 2010 7:12

Ok. I'll change the name...

ATM, I have just changed my computer (I took a desktop with Ubuntu only, no more windows), and I'll need some time to setup everything. After that, I'll resume working on it.
Westbeam
Posts: 239
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 9:24
Contact:

Postby Westbeam » Dec 12, 2010 12:17

Hey

Is there a way to make a MiniB3D-Variable a shared Variable?
Something like this:

Code: Select all

Dim Shared As TCamera camera


I hope, you can help me.[/code]
angros47
Posts: 1466
Joined: Jun 21, 2005 19:04

Postby angros47 » Dec 12, 2010 12:53

Of course:

Code: Select all

Dim shared as any ptr camera


All objects are simply pointers, you don't need to specify: so, you can use MoveEntity on a mesh, a light, or a camera with no limits. Since freebasic doesn't support polymorphism, this is the simplest work-around.
Westbeam
Posts: 239
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 9:24
Contact:

Postby Westbeam » Dec 12, 2010 13:02

Thank you. Now i can continue working on my game ;)

PS: Sry for my bad english :/
BastetFurry
Posts: 255
Joined: Jan 05, 2006 0:56

Postby BastetFurry » Dec 14, 2010 12:18

Playing around with terrain, why is one corner "down" after this piece of code:

Code: Select all

var terrain = CreateTerrain(16)
for x = 0 to 15
   for z = 0 to 15
      ModifyTerrain(terrain,x,z,0)
   next z
next x

PositionEntity terrain,0,-1,0


Picture of what i mean:

Image
angros47
Posts: 1466
Joined: Jun 21, 2005 19:04

Postby angros47 » Dec 14, 2010 12:33

A little bug :-(

I still don't know the reason... anyway, it's mostly harmless, since usually you shouldn't go outside a terrain anyway.
BastetFurry
Posts: 255
Joined: Jan 05, 2006 0:56

Postby BastetFurry » Dec 14, 2010 17:11

But its wrong when you want to tile terrian pieces for a big world that isnt loaded at once. :)

Return to “Libraries”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fxm, Knatterton and 15 guests