IguanaCMS goes further

User contributed sources that have become inactive, deprecated, or generally unusable. But ... we don't really want to throw them away either.
Julcar

IguanaCMS goes further

Post by Julcar »

Hi all,

After some time of inactivity on this project, there are two months of active development and the improvements are huge!

First of all let me show you a quick introduction to the spirit of the project:

IguanaCMS born because I am a web programmer and an enthusiast of the old school BASIC languages, and because VBscript started to get old and ASP (active server pages) was outdated long time ago. Let's clear something: I don't like VB.Net, and even worse, I don't like to code in C style (PHP, Java, etc) all I want is BASIC, and then I discovered FreeBasic in 2010, I was happy.

Since the first moment I got attracted by the -langqb option, so please don't get mad if you see an old fashioned basic syntax, in fact on the road I changed sometimes to chipmunkbasic, and then back to freebasic.

At the beginning the info about CGI (Common Gateway Interface) was limited to few very ancient pdf documents around there, but the answers to my questions was indeed in those documents, and then, starting from the scratch (understand scratch as a blank notepad file, zero coding, because almost nobody had a decent example) I coded the first of the function, and took me about 2 years (late 2012) to get a HTML form well processed, and at the next year I got a template engine fully working.

Now, after some periods of inactivity due to external factors, I am glad to present the new improvements to my code, which are:

Improved algorithm (more faster and simpler)
Modular design (Extensible through modules)
Complete template engine (template interpreter)
Management of errors
Integrated static pages module
A huge Users module, which also includes:
*Processing HTTP cookies, both for setting and retrieving values