Tutorial for using WinSock

Windows specific questions.
Glorfindel22

Tutorial for using WinSock

Post by Glorfindel22 »

Okay I have been using Free Basic for a while but I would like to incorporate WinSock into my programs. I want to use a client to server connection and the few tutorials I found for this were incredibly old and when I ran them gave me errors. So if anyone could link me to a tutorial or explain in the topic the different functions and show me some source code it would be greatly appreciated. TIA :)
w_samsa

Post by w_samsa »

Search for FBNET or Chisock. You can find a thread here http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3367

Walter
fixit9660

Post by fixit9660 »

Ok. Let's assume that I'm a complete novice at FreeBasic Winsock, that I know nothing about what it is, or how it works.
That's me. (I am a professional network engineer though so I understand the framework that the winsock has to operate in/relate to.)
Like Glorfindel22, I can do some things in FB, (create arrays, fill them with data, graph the data to the screen and save it to disk), maybe not very prettily, efficiently, or elegantly, but I can get it to do what I want it to.
I've followed the link below, searched and read as many of the other Forum links as I can find, and I'm beginning to feel like I'm a moron.
(I also can't find the Chisock library which everyone keeps mentioning and seems fairly essential.)
I think I'm missing some VERY basic knowledge, a plateau if you like, to get me to the level where I can start to understand all the website links, and "play" in a meaningful self-educating manner.
Could someone please point me at some resource, (Winsock 101, FB Winsock for Dummies, etc), or help me in those first steps to understanding it all?
Pretty please?
Thanks in anticipation,
Andy.
MOD

Post by MOD »

I recommend TSNE. Have a look at this thread: http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18684
fixit9660

Post by fixit9660 »