FB Setup for FBEdit editor

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
Dik

FB Setup for FBEdit editor

Post by Dik »

I'm new to FreeBASIC and am having great difficulty using the program editor. Starting with the simple 'Hello' program in the New User Manual, It's a very simple one line Print "Hello World". I can enter the source, and compile it without any errors and it creates a Hello.exe file in the sub-directory that the main file is in. It creates a BackUp sub-directory. There is nothing on the screen that indicates anything has run, and if I click on the *.exe file nothing happens even if loaded from the DOS command prompt. It doesn't even show up on the command line.

Are there switches that have to be set with the fbc.exe program (there is a listing of about 20 switches) or are there internal program switches or some directives that have to be included in the compiler set up?

Is it the same for creating a program on the Windows IDE?

Thanks in advance... Dik
sancho2

Re: FB Setup for FBEdit editor

Post by sancho2 »

It might be that it is flashing by super fast when you run it.
The code print "hello world" will print to the screen but it will also end immediately.
Add a sleep command after that which will force the user to press a key to continue.
In FBEdit you use the green arrow on the tool bar to compile and run the program.
There is an output window on the bottom left that will tell you the status of the compile similar to this:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\FreeBASIC1.05\fbc -s console "..\..\Users\Arcade\FB1076\FbTemp.bas"

Make done
If there are errors it will print them in that window.
There is also a 'quick run' option that looks like 3 colored dots on the tool bar. This runs the code in the active editor window.
For your tests you can use either.
If you don't see make done then likely your build path settings need to be set.